Glad I'm not from Sudan, Syria, Iraq, Somalia, Iran, Yemen, or Libya

This Forum is the main messageboard to discuss all things Claret and Blue and beyond
NRC
Been Liked: 908 times
Has Liked: 107 times

Glad I'm not from Sudan, Syria, Iraq, Somalia, Iran, Yemen, or Libya

Post by NRC » Sun Jan 29, 2017 2:38 am

I'm a permanent resident of the United States. I own three properties there. I earn my living entirely there and my total wealth is exclusively there, as is my debt. My wife is also there, and my step-children.

I'm due to take a trip to the UK in 10 days, and if I were from any of the countries from the title, and not the UK, I would not be allowed back in.

Many US companies, with employees either on visas or like me permanent residents, now have stranded employees, not able to get "home"

NRC

Re: Glad I'm not from Sudan, Syria, Iraq, Somalia, Iran, Yemen, or Libya

Post by NRC » Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:54 am

ACLU have won a temporary ban on part of the executive order - addressing those that are of refugee status. It basically provides the legal system time to determine if his order is unconstitutional. Still wouldn't let ME get back in the country

secessionman
Been Liked: 8 times
Has Liked: 20 times

Post by secessionman » Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:12 am

NRC wrote:I'm a permanent resident of the United States. I own three properties there. I earn my living entirely there and my total wealth is exclusively there, as is my debt. My wife is also there, and my step-children.

I'm due to take a trip to the UK in 10 days, and if I were from any of the countries from the title, and not the UK, I would not be allowed back in.

Many US companies, with employees either on visas or like me permanent residents, now have stranded employees, not able to get "home"
They have had over 2 months notice to be fair, if this is a surprise they weren't paying attention to the campaign.

NRC

Post by NRC » Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:21 am