Landlord trouble

This Forum is the main messageboard to discuss all things Claret and Blue and beyond
Claretmatt4
Been Liked: 1049 times
Has Liked: 723 times

Landlord trouble

Post by Claretmatt4 » Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:28 pm

Hi all, thought I'd reach out on here for some advice.

I've been renting an apartment in Manchester for 12 months with a colleague. We want to stay on (ideally on a 1 month rolling contract) but they have set us an email saying if we want to stay we have to pay a £120 administration fee. Is this right? Am I within my rights to decline to pay it?

The contract won't change, I can't see what the £120 will be spent on?

Aside from this, the 'service' we have received from them as a letting agent has been abysmal. Numerous issues have cropped up and they never reply to emails or give us updates on progress. Basic customer service needs haven't been matched.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? What would you recommend?

FactualFrank
Been Liked: 6930 times
Has Liked: 11660 times

Re: Landlord trouble

Post by FactualFrank » Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:36 pm

No new contract is actually being agreed. It's your current one that's expired, so the rolling monthly is a default one.

There's no administration fee for that. If you want to sign another 12 month contract then it's no more than a £30 fee. They're taking the p1ss.

ClaretDiver
Been Liked: 553 times
Has Liked: 131 times

Post by ClaretDiver » Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:43 pm

I agree with FF, I renewed my 6 month contract recently and it cost me £25...if I wanted to roll it monthly then no fee BUT it would have given the landlord the oppo to give me just a month notice...

ClaretDiver
Been Liked: 553 times
Has Liked: 131 times

Post by ClaretDiver » Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:44 pm

I am lucky though as my agents are brilliant, as is my landlord. Anything that has needed doing has been sorted asap.....

Jakubclaret
Been Liked: 1188 times
Has Liked: 780 times

Post by Jakubclaret » Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:07 pm