Ray Thomas

This Forum is the main messageboard to discuss all things Claret and Blue and beyond
houseboy
Been Liked: 2238 times
Has Liked: 1617 times

Ray Thomas

Post by houseboy » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:28 pm

Don't know where I've been hibernating for the last 18 months but only just found out today that Ray Thomas of the Moody Blues died in January of '18. He retired in 2004 for health reasons. This man was responsible for some of the most beautiful and memorable flute in a rock context and in their heyday the Moodies really were the soundtrack of my life. The solo in the middle of Nights in White Satin and the stunning solo in the middle of Legend of a Mind are just two absolute stand out moments out of many he produced over so many albums (especially the first - now considered classic) seven. The Moody Blues are a special band, writing so many beautiful pieces of music from short songs to almost symphonic long pieces and Thomas was, for so many years, integral to their sound.

Something beautiful left the world when he died.
These 2 users liked this post: randomclaret2 Juan Tanamera

Buxtonclaret
Been Liked: 3766 times
Has Liked: 7547 times

Re: Ray Thomas

Post by Buxtonclaret » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:32 pm

There were a few obituaries around at the time.
Not sure if Hamps did one on here. But this was a decent one.

Ray Thomas obituary

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2018/ ... _clipboard" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

houseboy

Post by houseboy » Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:49 pm

Buxtonclaret wrote:There were a few obituaries around at the time.
Not sure if Hamps did one on here. But this was a decent one.

Ray Thomas obituary

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2018/ ... _clipboard" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Thanks for that bud.

Juan Tanamera
Been Liked: 770 times
Has Liked: 10055 times

Post by Juan Tanamera » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:58 pm

I had all the early albums from Days Of Future Passed through to Seventh Sojourn.