That's the rule, but in this case it's irrelevant. The VAR review was over whether Burnley should have been given a penalty for handball, and the answer was yes.nil_desperandum wrote: ↑Sat Feb 22, 2020 10:06 pmAs I understand the handball rule this season if the ball hits the hand or arm - intentional or not - and it leads to a goal then the goal has to be ruled out and a free-kick given where the incident took place. So as I see it Mike Dean might not have adjudged it to be deliberate handball and didn't give a penalty, and had the ball then gone out of play VAR might have stuck with Dean's decision,(no penalty) but since the handball led directly to a goal then once the VAR check confirmed that it was handball then there was no option but to bring play back to where the infringement took place. On this occasion - unfortunately for Bournemouth it was in their own box, but there was no decision for VAR to make: it was a handball and it led to them scoring a goal The VAR ref didn't have any discretion in the matter.
What would have happened for a purely accidental handball, I don't know. It's a paradox - the ref should disallow the goal because the ball came off the arm during the attack, but then again he should not award a free kick (penalty) for an accidental handball by a defender. Drop ball maybe?
But in this case it is irrelevant. It was deliberate handball. There is no case to say that it came off his shoulder, because you cannot extend your shoulder by stretching the arm out; the shoulder does not change position in that way. If his arm had been by his side, the ball would have gone past or just skimmed his shoulder; he blocked the ball by extending his arm, not by extending his shoulder, so the ball must have hit his arm.