Economics

This Forum is the main messageboard to discuss all things Claret and Blue and beyond
jackmiggins
Been Liked: 197 times
Has Liked: 48 times

Economics

Post by jackmiggins » Tue Mar 10, 2020 12:21 pm

Oil price down - bad news. Oil price up - bad news! Always thought ‘Economics’ as a subject (art? Science?) is tripe. Can anyone elucidate on why economists actually earn a living? Personally think that Stocks, shares etc are a game played by the super rich & World events are merely ‘moulded’ into their ‘economist’s’ educated opinions to make massive profits. Of course, I’m not an expert, but am sure that some on here can enlighten me?
This user liked this post: IanMcL

fatboy47
Been Liked: 2314 times
Has Liked: 2692 times

Re: Economics

Post by fatboy47 » Tue Mar 10, 2020 12:27 pm

poor working class folk flogging their guts out in a factory or retail outlet etc...for barely a lving wage..well, if they get a raise on above the level of inflation..thats kinda bad apparently..its why the current government..despite brexit, will ensure a continued supply of cheap labour from the third world to keep our own folk on the breadlne.

a worker on the breadline is far easier to control.

jackmiggins
Been Liked: 197 times
Has Liked: 48 times

Post by jackmiggins » Tue Mar 10, 2020 12:32 pm

Precisely - the real economic world operates in the stratosphere, way out of reach from we plebs.

Tricky Trevor
Been Liked: 2439 times
Has Liked: 1978 times

Post by Tricky Trevor » Tue Mar 10, 2020 12:52 pm

Living in Ireland on UK pensions we are constantly tracking sterling/euro rates. They go up and down for no rhyme or reason. Yet moneymen all around the world make money on it up or down. We have got so good at following it I could make money moving it back and forward myself but they’d call me out for it and I’d get taxed. We get a call from the bank every time we transfer more than £10k across. Treating us like money launderers.

Spiral
Been Liked: 2518 times