Plumbing advice (Toilet)

This Forum is the main messageboard to discuss all things Claret and Blue and beyond
BenWickes
Been Liked: 645 times
Has Liked: 470 times

Plumbing advice (Toilet)

Post by BenWickes » Mon Nov 02, 2020 4:01 pm

So we think we found the culprit of the leak DC Wat suggested. Or did we? Had a leak from the toilet yesterday into the kitchen below. Constant dripping in the toilet which turned into a constant run of water .
I'm no expert on plumbing. Plumber has been out and solved the leak. However. Should the thingamabob in the cistern keep running ? Or is it supposed to stop once the cistern is full?
In simplistic terms. You flush, water empties and fill through the thingamabob again. It's still running even after the plumber has been. Is it supposed to run constantly? It's not reached any overflow I can find. So the water is going somewhere. :lol:
Any plumbers out there?
Where's the water going? :lol: :?

yTib
Been Liked: 704 times
Has Liked: 657 times

Re: Plumbing advice (Toilet)

Post by yTib » Mon Nov 02, 2020 4:06 pm

most cisterns have an overflow pipe that leads either outside or into a drain.

i had a similar problem not so long since and it was just the rubber washer had perished on the tap. should be easy enough to do it yourself. look on youtube on how to do it.

Bertiebeehead
Been Liked: 567 times
Has Liked: 684 times

Post by Bertiebeehead » Mon Nov 02, 2020 4:09 pm

Shouldn’t be constantly running, water is probably just going down into the pan. Is there a flapper in the cistern, these sometimes don’t seat correctly allowing water through into the pan.

Bertiebeehead

Post by Bertiebeehead » Mon Nov 02, 2020 4:11 pm

Most cistern overflows these days go straight into the pan as well.

ClaretEngineer
Been Liked: 690 times
Has Liked: 406 times

Post by ClaretEngineer » Mon Nov 02, 2020 4:12 pm

It’s supposed to stop once full. It’s very possible that like is due to the seal on the flushing mechanism.