Share this page :

Burnley turned in an excellent performance last Saturday against Liverpool at Anfield, returning with a point from a 1-1 draw with the two goals coming in the space of three minutes around the half hour.

It was a day when the defenders came out on top in both the man of the match vote and the player ratings which both saw the goalkeeper and two central defenders occupying the top three places.

Embed from Getty Images
Goalkeeper Nick Pope, making his first ever Premier League start, won the man of the match with 38% of the vote, ahead of the two central defenders James Tarkowski and Ben Mee who won 28% and 21% respectively. Goalscorer Scott Arfield and fellow midfielder Jack Cork shared fourth place, both players winning 3% of the vote.

It was very similar in the player ratings but Tarkowski came out on top this time. He secured a rating of 9.08 out of 10, his highest yet, with Pope this time in second place; his rating was 8.75. Just below him brought another third place for Mee with 8.71 while a rating of 8.13 out of 10 won Cork fourth place.

The result means eight points for both Pope and Tarkowski towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with Mee winning four points, Cork two and one for Arfield. That’s taken Tarkowski five points clear of Cork at the top of the table.

The Leeds vote will continue until the end of tomorrow and, right now, Phil Bardsley and Ashley Westwood are sharing the top two places.

The Liverpool result and the current player of the year table are below.


38% – Nick Pope
28% – James Tarkowski
21% – Ben Mee
3% – Scott Arfield & Jack Cork
3% – Steven Defour
1% – Robbie Brady
1& – Chris Wood
1% – Ashley Barnes
0% – Matt Lowton & Stephen Ward
0% – Johann Berg Gudmundsson


9.08 – James Tarkowski
8.75 – Nick Pope
8.71 – Ben Mee
8.13 – Jack Cork
8.00 – Matt Lowton
7.88 – Scott Arfield & Stephen Ward
7.38 – Steven Defour
7.33 – Robbie Brady
7.04 – Ashley Barnes
6.96 – Johann Berg Gudmundsson
6.88 – Chris Wood


31: James Tarkowski
26: Jack Cork
16: Steven Defour
11: Ben Mee & Sam Vokes
10: Robbie Brady & Nick Pope
5: Tom Heaton & Charlie Taylor
4: Scott Arfield
3: Stephen Ward
2: Jeff Hendrick

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :