Share this page :

Central defender Ameen Al-Dakhil and forward Ashley Barnes were our best two players last week in  the 1-1 draw at Millwall based on our man of the match vote and player ratings.

They won one each with Barnes, scorer of the goal that gave us a 1-0 lead, winning the man of the match with 37% of the vote, ahead of Al-Dakhil (pictured) who won a 20% share. Josh Cullen and Hjalmar Ekdal shared third place with 10% of the vote each.

It was a case of swapping places in the player ratings with Al-Dakhil, making his first league start, coming out on top with a rating of 7.62 out of ten, this time beating Barnes who was second with 7.57. Again two players shared third place. Here it was Ian Maatsen and Arijanet Muric who both had ratings of 7.10 out of ten.

This latest game has given both Al-Dakhil and Barnes eight points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with all of Cullen, Ekdal, Maatsen and Muric picking up two points.

Cullen is in third place and now just fourteen points behind second place Manuel Benson who in turn remains twenty-one points behind leader Jack Cork. Jordan Beyer and Nathan Tella are just five points behind Cullen while both Maatsen and Anass Zaroury are not too far behind.

The VOTE for the Huddersfield man of the match ends tonight with the Fleetwood vote getting underway tomorrow following our FA Cup tie against them.

The Millwall result is below followed by the current player of the year table.


37% – Ashley Barnes
20% – Ameen Al-Dakhil
10% – Josh Cullen & Hjalmar Ekdal
7% – Vitinho
4% – Ian Maatsen & Anass Zaroury
3% – Scott Twine
2% – Josh Brownhill
1% – Arijanet Muric & Connor Roberts


7.62 – Ameen Al-Dakhil
7.57 – Ashley Barnes
7.10 – Ian Maatsen & Arijanet Muric
7.05 – Hjalmar Ekdal
6.95 – Connor Roberts
6.86 – Josh Cullen
6.76 – Anass Zaroury
6.57 – Vitinho
6.48 – Josh Brownhill & Scott Twine


105: Jack Cork
84: Manuel Benson
70: Josh Cullen
65: Jordan Beyer & Nathan Tella
59: Anass Zaroury
56: Ian Maatsen
41: Josh Brownhill & Charlie Taylor
39: Ashley Barnes
35: Taylor Harwood-Bellis
30: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
28: Arijanet Muric
24: Ameen Al-Dakhil
23: Jay Rodriguez
20: Vitinho
19: Hjalmar Ekdal & Connor Roberts
14: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
10: Matt Lowton
7: CJ Egan-Riley
6: Samuel Bastien
3: Halil Dervişoğlu
2: Darko Churlinov & Luke McNally
1: Dara Costelloe

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :