Share this page :

Despite the changes, Burnley fell to another away defeat at Stoke. Some thought it was better, some not, some thought the manager got it very wrong, but Ben Mee’s performance certainly met with approval.

Mee won both the man of the match vote and the player ratings although for the third time this season the highest rating was less than the seven out of ten required for a good performance.

Acting captain Mee who it with a rating of 6.43 out of 10 and he was ahead of goalkeeper Paul Robinson who took second place with a rating of 6.29. Mee’s central defensive partner Michael Keane and midfielder Dean Marney were jointly in third place with a rating of 6.21 out of 10.

In the man of the match, Mee was the winner with 26% of the vote with Marney taking second place with 16%. The two recalled strikers, Ashley Barnes and Andre Gray were in the next two positions; Barnes was third with 15% and Gray fourth with 12% of the vote.

The result gives Mee ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year. Marney has collected five points, Robinson three points, both Barnes and Keane have won two points with one point for Gray.

Tom Heaton’s absence from the side has certainly allowed the two central defenders to move clear of him in the player of the year table where Keane now leads Mee by just two points. Heaton is now eleven points behind Mee. Marney’s five points have taken him above both Steven Defour and Johann Berg Gudmundsson into fourth place.

The next vote will start on Saturday after the Bournemouth game. The Stoke result and the current player of the year table are below.


26% – Ben Mee
16% – Dean Marney
15% – Ashley Barnes
12% – Andre Gray
8% – Michael Keane
7% – Jeff Hendrick
6% – Paul Robinson
5% – Jon Flanagan
3% – Scott Arfield
2% – Stephen Ward
1% – George Boyd


6.43 – Ben Mee
6.29 – Paul Robinson
6.21 – Michael Keane & Dean Marney
5.86 – Andre Gray
5.82 – Ashley Barnes
5.61 – Stephen Ward
5.21 – Jeff Hendrick
4.68 – Scott Arfield
4.39 – George Boyd
4.14 – Jon Flanagan


59: Michael Keane
57: Ben Mee
46: Tom Heaton
29: Dean Marney
28: Steven Defour
25: Johann Berg Gudmundsson
12: Jeff Hendrick
10: Ashley Barnes
9: Andre Gray
8: Sam Vokes
7: Aiden O’Neill & Paul Robinson
5: George Boyd & Stephen Ward
4: James Tarkowski
2: Scott Arfield & Matt Lowton
1: Jon Flanagan & Michael Kightly

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :