Share this page :

1516 burnley andre gray 00 630x420Two years ago Danny Ings won the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year Award, and we are in with a chance of that same award returning to Turf Moor this year following today’s nominations.

Andre Gray, who has netted 21 goals for us this season, is one of three players to be nominated with competition coming from Ross McCormack of Fulham, the league’s second highest goalscorer, and Alan Judge the Brentford player who was a team mate of Gray when the season kicked off.

McCormack has hit 21 goals this season with two from the penalty spot which is exactly the same number of goals Gray has scored in open play. He’s scored in both Fulham’s games against us with Gray having scored three times in those two fixtures.

Gray played at Brentford but wasn’t among the goalscorers in our 3-1 win, but Judge was, scoring the second half goal from Brentford at a time when it was believed that we were pursuing his signature along with James Tarkowski who did join us at the end of January.

He’s had an outstanding season for Brentford and is their leading goalscorer with 14 in the league although his season came to an end last weekend when he suffered a broken leg that will keep him out of the Republic of Ireland squad for the replay.

The award was first won by Phil Jagielka ten years ago when he was still with Sheffield United, but strikers have dominated it with the award going to forwards in six of the ten years.

The Previous Winners

2006: Phil Jagielka (Sheffield United)
2007: Jason Koumas (West Brom)
2008: Kevin Phillips (West Brom)
2009: Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolves)
2010: Kevin Nolan (Newcastle)
2011: Adel Taarabt (QPR)
2012: Rickie Lambert (Southampton)
2013: Matej Vydra (Watford)
2014: Danny Ings (Burnley)
2015: Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough)

This season’s awards will be presented in Manchester this Sunday, 17th April.

Share this page :

Follow UpTheClarets: