Share this page :

A 90th minute goal from Scott Arfield, our latest ever winning goal in a Premier League game, gave us a 2-1 win against Everton last Saturday but it was the goalkeeper and the two central defenders who took the honours again from this latest win.

No fewer than 18 of the 22 points awarded towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year have been won by goalkeeper Tom Heaton and his two central defenders Michael Keane and Ben Mee (pictured during the pre-season friendly at Rangers) as the Clarets took their points tally in the league into double figures.

Keane didn’t finish in the top four of the man of the match vote. That was won by his defensive partner Mee with 32% of the vote while Heaton, who won the vote with an astonishing 93% at Southampton, came second with a 22% share.

Winning goalscorer Arfield took third place with 14% and just behind him in fourth place was Johann Berg Gudmundsson, who played a big part in both goals. He had a 13% share.

It was Arfield who dropped out of the top four in the ratings which were won by Keane with a rating of 8.36 out of 10. That wasn’t far ahead of the next two with Heaton again in second place with 8.13 and 8.04 securing third place for Mee. Gudmundsson, who has settled into the team now after starting the season on the bench, was again fourth; his rating was 7.76 out of 10.

That result has given Mee seven points towards the player of the year while Heaton has claimed six and Keane five. Both Arfield and Gudmundsson won two points, those for Arfield being his first of the season.

Keane remains top of the table and now has an eight point lead over Mee who himself is just one point clear of Heaton. Steven Defour and Dean Marney are now both twelve points behind Heaton in joint fourth place.

The next vote gets underway on Saturday after our game against Manchester United at Old Trafford. The Everton result and the current player of the year table can be found below.


32% – Ben Mee
22% – Tom Heaton
14% – Scott Arfield
13% – Johann Berg Gudmundsson
11% – Michael Keane
4% – Stephen Ward
2% – Michael Kightly
1% – Dean Marney
1% – Sam Vokes
0% – Jeff Hendrick
0% – Matt Lowton


8.36 – Michael Keane
8.13 – Tom Heaton
8.04 – Ben Mee
7.76 – Johann Berg Gudmundsson
7.58 – Scott Arfield
7.51 – Stephen Ward
7.01 – Sam Vokes
6.72 – Dean Marney
6.69 – Michael Kightly
6.57 – Jeff Hendrick
6.33 – Matt Lowton


41: Michael Keane
33: Ben Mee
32: Tom Heaton
20: Steven Defour & Dean Marney
11: Jeff Hendrick
10: Johann Berg Gudmundsson
8: Andre Gray & Sam Vokes
7: Aiden O’Neill
5: George Boyd & Stephen Ward
2: Scott Arfield
1: Michael Kightly

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :