Share this page :

Ashley Barnes scored his first Turf Moor goal in 2017 when he hammered home our second in last Saturday’s 2-0 win against Swansea City and the goal, alongside his performance, has won him both the man of the match and the player ratings.

1718 burnley ashley barnes 00 500x500He battled it out with former Swansea midfielder Jack Cork, who scored the opener, in the vote with the pair winning almost 70% of the vote between them. Barnes it was who came out on top with a 36% share while Cork was just behind with 33%.

Cork’s midfield partner Steven Defour was another to have an outstanding game. He claimed third place with 13% while a 7% share of the vote gave Johann Berg Gudmundsson fourth place.

The top three in the ratings were the same three. Barnes won it with a rating of 8.69 out of 10, followed by Cork and Defour who had ratings of 8.46 and 8.42 respectively. Right-back Matt Lowton came fourth with a rating of 8.19 out of 10.

The result gives Barnes the maximum ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with Cork getting six points, four points for Defour and both Gudmundsson and Lowton winning one point.

It’s made it very tight at the top with Cork now just one point behind leader James Tarkowski. Defour is now a further fifteen points behind in third place.

The next vote and ratings will be underway on Sunday within an hour of the final whistle of the home game against Arsenal.

Below is the result from the Swansea game and the current player of the year table.


36% – Ashley Barnes
33% – Jack Cork
13% – Steven Defour
7% – Johann Berg Gudmundsson
6% – Matt Lowton
2% – James Tarkowski
1% – Nick Pope
1% – Robbie Brady & Jeff Hendrick
0% – Ben Mee
0% – Stephen Ward


8.69 – Ashley Barnes
8.46 – Jack Cork
8.42 – Steven Defour
8.19 – Matt Lowton
8.04 – James Tarkowski
7.92 – Johann Berg Gudmundsson
7.75 – Ben Mee
7.62 – Robbie Brady
7.42 – Jeff Hendrick
7.19 – Nick Pope
6.67 – Stephen Ward


59: James Tarkowski
58: Jack Cork
43: Steven Defour
35: Nick Pope
23: Ben Mee
13: Robbie Brady
12: Sam Vokes & Stephen Ward
10: Phil Bardsley & Ashley Barnes
9: Johann Berg Gudmundsson
7: Scott Arfield
6: Ashley Westwood
5: Tom Heaton & Charlie Taylor
3: Chris Wood
2: Jeff Hendrick
1: Matt Lowton

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :