Share this page :

Goalscorer Ashley Barnes and our back four were the players voted our best after the 2-1 defeat against  Liverpool at Anfield last Sunday.

Barnes gave us the lead in the seventh minute, latching on to a ball into the box from Matt Lowton, to score in front of the Kop. That, and his overall performance, saw him win the man of the match vote with a 25% share, just beating central defender Michael Keane who won 24%.

There were two more defenders behind Keane in the vote with Ben Mee taking third place with 18% and 12% of the vote winning fourth place for Matt Lowton.

It was three defenders and Barnes for the top four places in the player ratings too but this time Barnes had to settle for third place. Keane was the winner with a rating of 8.46 out of 10, a score way above the rest. Lowton was second; his rating was 7.59 with Barnes just behind with a rating of 7.54. Stephen Ward, with a rating of 7.46 out of 10, took fourth place.

It was Keane who finished on to with eight points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with seven points for Barnes, four for Lowton, two for Mee and one for Ward. That result has now taken Keane nine points clear of Mee at the top of the table.

The next vote will be for the Sunderland game and should be available around an hour after the final whistle.

The Liverpool result and the player of the year table are below.


25% – Ashley Barnes
24% – Michael Keane
18% – Ben Mee
12% – Matt Lowton
5% – Joey Barton
4% – George Boyd
4% – Jeff Hendrick
4% – Stephen Ward
1% – Andre Gray
1% – Scott Arfield
1% – Tom Heaton


8.46 – Michael Keane
7.59 – Matt Lowton
7.54 – Ashley Barnes
7.46 – Stephen Ward
7.41 – Ben Mee
7.19 – Jeff Hendrick
7.11 – Andre Gray
7.03 – Joey Barton
6.70 – Scott Arfield
6.62 – George Boyd
6.14 – Tom Heaton


115: Michael Keane
106: Ben Mee
66: Tom Heaton
59: Jeff Hendrick
48: Ashley Barnes
47: Steven Defour
36: Joey Barton
32: Dean Marney
29: Andre Gray
28: Matt Lowton
27: James Tarkowski
25: Johann Berg Gudmundsson
24: Stephen Ward
13: George Boyd
9: Scott Arfield & Sam Vokes
7: Aiden O’Neill & Paul Robinson
3: Robbie Brady & Tendayi Darikwa
1: Jon Flanagan, Michael Kightly & Nick Pope

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :