Share this page :

Last Saturday saw us exit the FA Cup with a big 6-0 defeat against Manchester City at the Etihad Stadium and our heaviest defeat in the competition since Arsenal beat us 7-1 at the Turf in 1937.

It wasn’t a day when our players had the chance to shine but central defender Jordan Beyer was voted our best player in both the man of the match and the player ratings.

Beyer won the man of the match with 56% of the vote. He was followed by Connor Roberts who took second place with a 10% share. Josh Cullen, captain on the day, was third with 9% while Bailey Peacock-Farrell won 6% to take fourth place.

Again, in the player ratings, Beyer was the winner scoring 6.36 out of ten. He was the only player to register a rating of six or more for an average performance. Nathan Tella took second place with 5.85 with Michael Obafemi, who came on as a substitute during the second half, third with 5.66. Roberts won fourth place with a rating of 5.60 out of ten.

Beyer wins ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year. There are four points for Roberts, three for Tella, two for both Cullen and Obafemi with Peacock-Farrell picking up one point.

This result has now taken Cullen four points clear of Jack Cork at the top of the player of the year table but Beyer is moving in on both of them, just a further six points behind Cork. Tella remains in fourth place some nine points behind Beyer.

The Manchester City result and the current player of the year table are below.


56% – Jordan Beyer
10% – Connor Roberts
9% – Josh Cullen
6% – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
5% – Nathan Tella
4% – Ameen Al-Dakhil
2% – Ian Maatsen
1% – Lyle Foster
1% – Ashley Barnes, Jack Cork, Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson & Michael Obafemi
1% – Vitinho & Anass Zaroury


6.36 – Jordan Beyer
5.85 – Nathan Tella
5.66 – Michael Obafemi
5.60 – Connor Roberts
5.53 – Ameen Al-Dakhil
5.47 – Josh Cullen & Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
5.19 – Lyle Foster
5.17 – Ashley Barnes
5.04 – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
4.98 – Jack Cork & Anass Zaroury
4.94 – Ian Maatsen
4.74 – Vitinho


109: Josh Cullen
105: Jack Cork
99: Jordan Beyer
90: Nathan Tella
84: Manuel Benson
59: Anass Zaroury
56: Ian Maatsen
44: Charlie Taylor
41: Ashley Barnes & Josh Brownhill
37: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
36: Arijanet Muric
35: Taylor Harwood-Bellis
27: Connor Roberts
25: Ameen Al-Dakhil
23: Jay Rodriguez
22: Hjalmar Ekdal
21: Vitinho
15: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
10: Matt Lowton
7: CJ Egan-Riley
6: Samuel Bastien
3: Halil Dervişoğlu
2: Darko Churlinov, Luke McNally & Michael Obafemi
1: Dara Costelloe

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :