Share this page :

Burnley went out of the League Cup last Wednesday, beaten 3-0 at home by holders Manchester City on what was the final day of September.

Bailey Peacock-Farrell was the star of the show for the Clarets, making a string of fine saves as he took on City and mainly Raheem Sterling on what was his home debut for the first team.

He won the man of the match handsomely, picking up 68% of the vote with Charlie Taylor taking second place with just a 13% share. James Tarkowski, in his first match of the season following a toe injury, was third with just 4% while 3% of the vote saw Josh Brownhill and Dwight McNeil jointly take fourth place.

The top places in the player ratings were the same players with Peacock-Farrell at the top again with a rating of 7.52 out of 10 and Taylor second; his rating was 6.88. Tarkowski followed with 6.36 and Tarkowski was third with 6.36. A rating of 6.20 gave McNeil fourth place.

Man of the match and player ratings together has given Peacock-Farrell the maximum ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year. Taylor has won six points with four points for Tarkowski, two for McNeil and one for Brownhill.

Those points have kept Taylor at the top of the table and given him our first monthly award of the season, some seven points ahead of Brownhill who sits in second place.

The Newcastle VOTE ends tonight and the Manchester City result can be found below, followed by the September table.


68% – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
13% – Charlie Taylor
4% – James Tarkowski
3% – Josh Brownhill & Dwight McNeil
2% – Ashley Westwood
1% – Erik Pieters
1% – Kevin Long
1% – Matt Lowton & Matěj Vydra
0% – Ashley Barnes & Chris Wood


7.52 – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
6.88 – Charlie Taylor
6.36 – James Tarkowski
6.20 – Dwight McNeil
6.08 – Josh Benson
5.96 – Josh Brownhill
5.92 – Ashley Westwood
5.80 – Matt Lowton
5.72 – Ashley Barnes
5.68 – Erik Pieters
5.56 – Chris Wood
5.32 – Kevin Long
5.16 – Matěj Vydra


26: Charlie Taylor
19: Josh Brownhill
14: Jimmy Dunne
10: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
8: Phil Bardsley
7: Erik Pieters & Matěj Vydra
6: Bobby Thomas
5: Nick Pope
4: James Tarkowski
3: Chris Wood
2: Dwight McNeil
1: Matt Lowton

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :