Share this page :

The Clarets were undeservedly beaten by Liverpool last Sunday on a day when Josh Brownhill arguably had his best game for us since he signed from Bristol City two years ago.

It’s a performance that has won him both the man of the match and the player ratings and it was a comfortable win for the man of the match with 53% of the vote. Behind him was Erik Pieters, who continues to impress during Charlie Taylor’s absence. Pieters won 16% of the vote with Aaron Lennon in third place with 10% and Nick Pope claiming the fourth place with a 5% share of the vote.

The top three were also the top three in the player ratings. Brownhill scored 8.29 out of ten while Pieters score was 7.96. Lennon was again third with 7.57 with Ben Mee in fourth place with a rating of 7.48 out of ten.

It’s given Brownhill the maximum ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with Pieters winning six points. Lennon has picked up four points with one point each for Mee and Pope.

Those points haven’t affected the top of the table where James Tarkowski and Taylor are still some way clear with Pope in third place still 21 points behind Tarkowski.

The next vote will be underway this Saturday after the game at Brighton. The Liverpool result and the current player of the year table are below.


53% – Josh Brownhill
16% – Erik Pieters
10% – Aaron Lennon
5% – Nick Pope
5% – Wout Weghorst
4% – Ben Mee
3% – James Tarkowski
1% – Connor Roberts & Ashley Westwood
1% – Maxwel Cornet
0% – Dwight McNeil & Jay Rodriguez


8.29 -Josh Brownhill
7.96 – Erik Pieters
7.57 – Aaron Lennon
7.48 – Ben Mee
7.41- James Tarkowski
7.27 – Nick Pope
6.98 – Ashley Westwood
6.84 – Connor Roberts
6.80 – Wout Weghorst
6.11 – Jay Rodriguez
5.86 – Dwight McNeil
5.74 – Maxwel Cornet


73: James Tarkowski
66: Charlie Taylor
52: Nick Pope
47: Nathan Collins
46: Maxwel Cornet
44: Dwight McNeil
39: Ben Mee
26: Matt Lowton
23: Josh Brownhill & Aaron Lennon
20: Wayne Hennessey
16: Jay Rodriguez
15: Connor Roberts
13: Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
12: Matěj Vydra
11: Chris Wood
10: Phil Bardsley
7: Erik Pieters & Wout Weghorst
6: Dale Stephens
5: Jack Cork
1: Ashley Westwood

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :