Share this page :

1718 burnley turf moor 01 1000x500Having beaten Leeds United 1-0 in the 3rd round with a Jordan Cropper goal, Burnley have received another home tie in the 4th round but must wait until next week to learn whether our opponents will be Manchester City or Plymouth Argyle.

They meet next Thursday at Plymouth in their 3rd round game but it is very likely that Manchester City will win through, a team who have been beaten finalists in each of the last three years, losing the final to Chelsea on all three occasions.

Current Burnley player Ben Mee was captain and goalscorer for them last time they won it. That was in 2008 and Mee played alongside Kieran Trippier when they beat Chelsea 4-2 on aggregate. They’d also previously won the competition in 1986 when they beat local rivals Manchester United with a team that included Andy Hinchcliffe, David White and Paul Lake playing against a United team captained by future Claret Steve Gardner.

We’ve played Plymouth once previously in this competition. That too was in the 4th round. We won 1-0 on our way to the semi-finals. We’d also beaten Manchester City that season two rounds earlier and we’ve played City on no fewer than nine occasions, winning five of them and losing four.

Our most recent meeting was in 2012/13 after having beaten Manchester United in the previous round. On that occasion we were beaten 2-0 at the Etihad.

The 4th round ties must be played on or before Saturday 20th January 2018.

The Full Draw

Hartlepool or Liverpool v Arsenal or Sheffield Wednesday
Burnley v Plymouth or Manchester City
Crystal Palace v Newcastle
West Ham or Blackpool v Southampton or Wolves
Fleetwood or Stevenage v Middlesbrough or Bolton
Chelsea or Scunthorpe v West Brom
Everton or Ipswich v Oxford or Dagenham & Redbridge
QPR or Charlton v Reading or Millwall
Cheltenham or Bury v Aston Villa or Coventry
Colchester or Crewe v MK or Cardiff
Birmingham v Sheffield United or Burton
Swindon or Nottingham Forest v Leicester
Blackburn or Stoke v Watford or Sunderland
Swansea or Chesterfield v Huddersfield or Fulham
Norwich or Barnsley v Derby or Manchester United
Bournemouth or Hull v Tottenham or Preston

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :