Share this page :

With Jack Cork, Josh Brownhill and Ashley Barnes missing from the side, Josh Cullen took the captain’s armband again at Rotherham and turned in a captain’s performance for the Clarets in midfield.

His performance won him yet another man of the match and player ratings which leaves him as the clear favourite to win our player of the year.

In the man of the match, he polled 31% of the vote, beating Scott Twine whose best performance yet for Burnley brought him a second place finish with 21%. Central defender Jordan Beyer, consistent as ever, was third with 11% and just behind him in fourth place with 10% of the vote was substitute Manuel Benson who scored a superb goal that, at the time, looked like being the winner.

Those same four players took the top four places in the player ratings too. Cullen was again the winner with a rating of 7.38 out of ten, followed once more by Twine who rated 7.26. There was a swap of places with the next two, Benson claiming third place with 7.24 and Beyer coming fourth with a rating of 7.14 out of ten.

It’s given Cullen another maximum ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with six points for Twine, his first points, and three each for Benson and Beyer. Those points have extended Cullen’s lead at the top of the table to fourteen points and it leaves him and Beyer now as the only potential candidates to win the award that had been the property of James Tarkowski for the last four seasons.

There are now just four votes to go, the first of them getting underway this evening after our home game against QPR.

The Rotherham result and the current player of the year table are below.


31% – Josh Cullen
21% – Scott Twine
11% – Jordan Beyer
10% – Manuel Benson
9% – Lyle Foster
7% – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
6% – Connor Roberts
2% – Ameen Al-Dakhil
1% – Anass Zaroury
1% – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
0% – Vitinho
0% – Ian Maatsen


7.38 – Josh Cullen
7.26 – Scott Twine
7.24 – Manuel Benson
7.14 – Jordan Beyer
6.96 – Connor Roberts
6.58 – Lyle Foster
6.52 – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
6.14 – Anass Zaroury
5.98 – Ameen Al-Dakhil
5.90 – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
5.78 – Vitinho
5.26 – Ian Maatsen


137: Josh Cullen
123: Jordan Beyer
105: Jack Cork
99: Nathan Tella
89: Manuel Benson
59: Anass Zaroury
56: Ian Maatsen
52: Ashley Barnes
50: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
44: Josh Brownhill & Charlie Taylor
36: Arijanet Muric
35: Taylor Harwood-Bellis
34: Connor Roberts
32: Ameen Al-Dakhil
23: Jay Rodriguez
22: Hjalmar Ekdal
21: Vitinho
15: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
10: Matt Lowton
7; CJ Egan-Riley
6: Samuel Bastien & Scott Twine
3: Halil Dervişoğlu
2: Darko Churlinov, Luke McNally & Michael Obafemi
1: Dara Costelloe

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :