Share this page :

Having lost at home against QPR last Saturday, Burnley now travel to Ewood Park searching for the win that will guarantee us winning the Championship title.

On the two occasions in my lifetime that we’ve lifted this wonderful trophy known as ‘The Lady’ we’ve been presented it at the Keirby Hotel in 1960 and more recently, in 2016, on the steps of the Town Hall on Manchester Road.

It won’t be presented tonight should we win but that would allow the league, hopefully to bring it to the Turf in 13 days time to avoid us using some blown up toy cup.

Easter brought those wonderful wins against Middlesbrough and Sheffield United. I wouldn’t say that we’ve had the jitters since but I don’t think many would have expected us to win just two points from the three games since.

Reading was a drab game, we should have beaten Rotherham and, had we taken our chances in the first half, QPR couldn’t have played Ring-a-ring-a-Rosie and All Fall Down in the second half. We’ve still three games to get those three more points needed and hopefully they will come tonight.

Embed from Getty Images
Central defender Jordan Beyer is looking forward to the game. He said of Saturday’s defeat: “Of course, we were all disappointed because we wanted to get the title at home, especially with our home form to keep the record alive. However, sometimes you lose football games, it happens, and we were frustrated obviously but we talked with the manager, with staff about what happened, what we did wrong, what we have to do better. The only thing we can do is go again on Tuesday and do our best to change these things and win the game.”

There are no new injuries reported although it’s expected that both Hjalmar Ekdal and Nathan Tella will again be ruled out.

The team last Saturday was: Arijanet Muric, Connor Roberts, Taylor Harwood-Bellis, Jordan Beyer, Ian Maatsen, Josh Cullen, Josh Brownhill, Manuel Benson, Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson, Anass Zaroury, Ashley Barnes. Subs: Bailey Peacock-Farrell, Charlie Taylor, Jack Cork, Vitinho, Scott Twine, Michael Obafemi, Jay Rodriguez.

The banner at the top of this article shows the front covers of the match programmes from all our wins there from 1962/63 season onwards.

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :