Share this page :

Having beaten Sheffield United 3-0 eight days ago, our under-23s couldn’t add a second win in the Premier League Cup tonight, falling to a 2-1 defeat against Peterborough United.

We followed up last week’s win with a league victory against Norwich when Michael Jackson named an unchanged team but that wasn’t the case tonight; there were seven changes in personnel and a change in formation too, switching from 4-4-2 to a 3-5-2 formation.

Maybe the formation change was the reason but we never really got to grips with things and ultimately couldn’t have too many complaints at the final whistle.

After a drab opening to the game, it was Peterborough who went in front in bizarre circumstances. Goalkeeper Sam Waller came for a cross with Hameed Ishola challenging him. Some of the Peterborough players thought it was a foul on their player but the referee was disinterested as was the assistant so it was somewhat strange that two officials both said no, then spoke to each other and came up with a yes. A penalty it was and Charlie O’Connell scored with ease.

It took us twelve minutes to draw level and it was a soft goal. Posh keeper Will Lakin saved well from Ben Woods but eventually the ball found Woods again. This time the keeper fumbled his ball into the box and left Sam Unwin (pictured) with the easiest of tasks to score into the empty net.

We started to look the better side so it was a shock when we went behind again just before half time. Andrew Oluwabori got in far too easily on the right and played the ball for Ishola whose shot found the far corner.

During the second half, we had a couple of opportunities which, on both occasions, they dealt with well, but generally it was a subdued second half showing when we didn’t put them under any pressure despite dominating the ball and it ended 2-1 with us travelling to Everton next week for our third game in this season’s competition.

The teams were;

Burnley: Sam Waller, Jake Rooney, Harry Williams, Calen Gallagher-Allison, Ethen Vaughan, Ben Woods, Mark Helm, Ne-Jai Tucker, Dara Costelloe (Owen Dodgson 66), Sam Unwin (Michael Mellon 66), Max Thompson (Joe McGlynn 66). Subs not used: Charlie Casper, Jacob Bedeau.

Peterborough: Will Larkin, Charlie O’Connell, Emmanuel Fernandez (Connor Peters), Richard Taylor (Oscar Tongue), Aaron Powell, Andrew Oluwabori, Kyle Barker, Ethan Bojang (Roddy McGlinchey), Johnson Gyamfi, Hameed Ishola, Kobe Jae Chong. Subs not used: Matthew Laycock, Emmanuel Ogbonna.

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :