Share this page :

A third successive man of the match, coupled with another player ratings win, has taken Josh Cullen into second place in our search for the Up the Clarets Player of the Year and within five points of leader, and fellow midfielder, Jack Cork.

Cork seemed to be running away with it; only Manuel Benson ever keeping close to him, but his lack of game time recently, along with Benson’s injury and Cullen’s superb run of form has changed things dramatically.

In this latest of games, Cullen won the man of the match with 32% of the vote, ahead of central defender Jordan Beyer who was second with 19% and closely beating Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson who also polled 19%. Nathan Tella took fourth place with 12% of the vote.

Three of those four held the same positions in the player ratings. Cullen won with a rating of 7.09 out of ten with Bayer just behind again on 6.97. Hjalmar Ekdal took third place with 6.66 while Tella was again fourth with a rating of 6.57 out of ten.

Cullen again picked up ten points towards the player of the year with Beyer winning six points. There were also two points each for Ekdal, Guðmundsson and Tella. It’s taken Cullen to exactly one hundred points and now sixteen points ahead of Benson who hangs onto third place with Beyer now just three points behind him.

You can still VOTE for your man of the match against Wigan until the end of today. The Blackpool result and the current player of the year table are below.


32% – Josh Cullen
19% – Jordan Beyer
19% – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
12% – Nathan Tella
7% – Hjalmar Ekdal
3% – Connor Roberts
3% – Ashley Barnes
1% – Arijanet Muric & Scott Twine
1% – Josh Brownhill & Vitinho
0% – Michael Obafemi & Anass Zaroury


7.09 – Josh Cullen
6.97 – Jordan Beyer
6.66 – Hjalmar Ekdal
6.57 – Nathan Tella
6.49 – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
6.37 – Arijanet Muric
6.20 – Ashley Barnes
6.14 – Josh Brownhill
6.06 – Connor Roberts
5.54 – Scott Twine
5.49 – Michael Obafemi
5.23 – Vitinho
4.86 – Anass Zaroury


105: Jack Cork
100: Josh Cullen
84: Manuel Benson
81: Jordan Beyer
67: Nathan Tella
59: Anass Zaroury
56: Ian Maatsen
44: Charlie Taylor
41: Josh Brownhill
39: Ashley Barnes
37: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
35: Taylor Harwood-Bellis
28: Arijanet Muric
25: Ameen Al-Dakhil
23: Connor Roberts & Jay Rodriguez
22: Hjalmar Ekdal
21: Vitinho
14: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
10: Matt Lowton
7: CJ Egan-Riley
6: Samuel Bastien
3: Halil Dervişoğlu
2: Darko Churlinov & Luke McNally
1: Dara Costelloe

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :