Share this page :

It’s nothing like Jon Moss and Manchester United games at Old Trafford, but tonight Mike Dean will referee a home game against United for a third time.

Both have previously ended in defeat; we lost the 2017/18 encounter 1-0 and two seasons later were beaten 2-0 in the final game of 2019.

Embed from Getty Images
Dean has refereed four games at the Turf since, those against Bournemouth, Watford and Wolves later in the season and then against West Brom last season. His only Burnley game this season was the first away game at Liverpool back in August.

Without question the most experienced Premier League referee currently, he’s added fifteen more to date this season along with one FA Cup tie and in those sixteen games there have been 52 yellow cards and just the one red card.

Of those yellows, 29 have gone to home team players with 23 to away team players. The one player he has sent off was Watford’s Emmanuel Dennis in his most recent game, that being Norwich’s visit to Vicarage Road. It was a red card that kept Dennis out of Watford’s game at Burnley last Saturday. It was a second yellow with the one other card in that game going the way of Norwich’s Kenny McLean.

The fourth official tonight is Tony Harrington. He refereed his first ever Premier League game in December between Brighton and Wolves but his most recent Burnley game was our League Cup exit at Accrington in August 2016. Stuart Attwell has almost become our resident VAR official and he’s on duty again tonight. It will be three years ago tomorrow since he last refereed us; our 3-1 win at Brighton.

Match Officials

Referee: Mike Dean
Assistant Referees: Ian Hussin & Eddie Smart
Fourth Official: Tony Harrington
VAR: Stuart Attwell
Assistant VAR: Dan Robathan

Previous Burnley Games – Mike Dean

SeasonOpponentsVResYRBurnley Players Carded
1997/98Lutonh1-130Y: Cooke
1998/99Walsalla1-340Y: Armstrong, Brass, Payton
1999/2000Chesterfieldh2-120Y: Cowan
1999/2000Wiganh0-050Y: Johnrose, Thomas
2000/01Crystal Palaceh2-210
2002/03Bradford Citya2-262Y: Cook, Papadopoulos, Taylor
2003/04Bradford Cityh4-000
2003/04Prestona3-540Y: Blake, Gnohere, West
2003/04Ipswichh4-230Y: Chaplow, McGregor
2004/05Blackburnh0-050Y: Camara, Hyde
2005/06Leedsh1-250Y: Harley, Hyde
2005/06Crystal Palaceh0-040Y: Harley, Branch
2006/07Sunderlandh2-230Y: Hyde
2006/07Leicesterh0-130Y: Caldwell
2007/08Blackpoolh2-220Y: Akinbiyi, Caldwell
2008/09West Broma2-200
2008/09Sheffield UnitedW1-042Y: Carlisle, Kalvenes
2009/10Tottenhama0-520Y: Bikey
2009/10Arsenalh1-120Y: Caldwell, Eagles
2009/10Blackburnh0-150Y: Alexander, Fox, Duff
2010/11Leicestera0-430Y: Marney, Rodriguez, Bikey
2012/13Peterboroughh5-220Y: Mills
2013/14Blackburna2-130Y: Arfield
2014/15Crystal Palacea0-050Y: Ings, Sordell, Boyd
2014/15Newcastlea3-360Y: Ings, Mee, Trippier, Boyd
2014/15West Bromh2-240
2014/15Arsenalh0-120Y: Mee, Duff
2015/16Bristol Citya2-100
2016/17Southamptona1-330Y: Defour, Marney
2016/17Leicesterh1-010Y: Lowton
2017/18Newcastleh1-030Y: Guðmundsson, Cork, Tarkowski
2017/18Manchester Unitedh0-160Y: Mee, Bardsley, Defour
2017/18Stokea1-130Y: Barnes
2018/19Huddersfielda2-152Y: Mee, Bardsley, Wood, Heaton R: Brady
2018/19Tottenhamh2-140Y: Bardsley
2018/19Cardiffh2-060Y: Tarkowski, Barnes
2018/19Arsenalh1-360Y: Heaton, Barnes, Tarkowski, Lowton, Cork
2019/20Arsenala1-230Y: Barnes
2019/20Manchester Unitedh0-270Y: Bardsley, Mee, Taylor, McNeil
2019/20Bournemouthh3-070Y: Bardsley, Lennon, Hendrick, Mee
2019/20Watfordh1-010Y: McNeil
2020/21Liverpoola1-030Y: Barnes
2020/21West Bromh0-031Y: Cork, Mee, Lowton
Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :