Share this page :

A stale game with few goalscoring opportunities in our 0-0 draw last Saturday at Reading and that is reflected in the man of the match and player ratings result with defenders very much to the fore.

Ameen Al-Dakhil won the man of the match with 19% of the vote but that was narrowly ahead of his defensive partner Jordan Beyer who took second place with 18%. Manuel Benson came third with 16% and Josh Cullen claimed fourth place with a 15% share of the vote.

There were joint winners in the player ratings with both Beyer and Cullen scoring 7.33 out of ten. Al-Dakhil was behind them with 7.12 and it was Roberts who took third place with a rating of 7.06 out of ten.

It’s given Beyer eight points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with Al-Dakhil winning seven points. Cullen picked up six points and there were two points for Benson and one point for Roberts.

That’s taken the top two further away in the chase for the player of the year. Cullen now leads with 127 points although Beyer, with 120 points, has now reduced Cullen’s lead at the top to just seven. With Cork being mainly used as a substitute now and with Tella currently out injured, the next two aren’t looking likely to catch them so it is going to take something special for neither of the top two to be up there at the season’s end.

The VOTE for the Rotherham game remains open until the end of today.

The Reading result and the current player of the year table are below.


19% – Ameen Al-Dakhil
18% – Jordan Beyer
16% – Manuel Benson
15% – Josh Cullen
15% – Charlie Taylor
7% – Scott Twine
4% – Connor Roberts
3% – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
1% – Darko Churlinov & Bailey Peacock-Farrell
1% – Lyle Foster
0% – Jack Cork


7.33 – Jordan Beyer & Josh Cullen
7.12 – Ameen Al-Dakhil
7.06 – Connor Roberts
6.88 – Charlie Taylor
6.58 – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
6.52 – Manuel Benson
6.45 – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
6.09 – Scott Twine
5.88 – Jack Cork
5.15 – Lyle Foster
4.61 – Darko Churlinov


127: Josh Cullen
120: Jordan Beyer
105: Jack Cork
99: Nathan Tella
86: Manuel Benson
59: Anass Zaroury
56: Ian Maatsen
52: Ashley Barnes
50: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
44: Josh Brownhill & Charlie Taylor
36: Arijanet Muric
35: Taylor Harwood-Bellis
34: Connor Roberts
32: Ameen Al-Dakhil
23: Jay Rodriguez
22: Hjalmar Ekdal
21: Vitinho
15: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
10: Matt Lowton
7: CJ Egan-Riley
6: Samuel Bastien
3: Halil Dervişoğlu
2: Darko Churlinov, Luke McNally & Michael Obafemi
1: Dara Costelloe

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :