Share this page :

Burnley’s two central defenders were voted our best two players in last Saturday’s 1-0 home defeat against Manchester United with both winning a first and second place in the man of the match vore and the player ratings.

James Tarkowski - just nine points behind player of the year leader Steven Defour
James Tarkowski – just nine points behind player of the year leader Steven Defour

Ben Mee was the winner of the man of the match. It was his first win of the season and he did it by securing 23% of the vote. James Tarkowski was second with 17% and Steven Defour came third, also with 17% but with one less vote than Tarkowski. Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson took fourth place with a 15% share of the vote.

After the previous week’s low ratings from the Crystal Palace game, the much improved performance brought much higher player ratings with all players some way over six out of twn and the two central defenders passing eight out of ten.

It was Tarkowski on top this time with a rating of 8.13 out of 10, just above the 8.06 scored by Mee. Defour was again third with a rating of 7.83 while fourth place this time went to Charlie Taylor who had a player rating of 7.52 out of 10.

That means both Mee and Tarkowski won eight points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with Defour winning four points and one point each for Guðmundsson and Taylor.

What was looking like a two horse race recently between Tarkowski and Jack Cork has changed considerably after recent games. Defour still leads the table but his lead over Tarkowski is now just nine points while Mee who has had a terrific December and January to move up into third place. He’s now four points ahead of Guðmundsson who is fourth with Cork now fifth just five points behind Guðmundsson.

This weekend sees us have a break because of the FA Cup 4th round and so the next vote will be underway next Wednesday night after the game at Newcastle and it will run until the following Saturday afternoon when it will be replaced with the Manchester City vote.

The Manchester United result is below, followed by the current player of the year table.


23% – Ben Mee
17% – James Tarkowski
17% – Steven Defour
15% – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
8% – Jack Cork
8% – Charlie Taylor
6% – Ashley Barnes
3% – Scott Arfield
2% – Jeff Hendrick
1% – Phil Bardsley
0% – Nick Pope


8.13 – James Tarkowski
8.06 – Ben Mee
7.83 – Steven Defour
7.52 – Charlie Taylor
7.48 – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
7.41 – Jack Cork
7.20 – Nick Pope
7.09 – Scott Arfield
6.91 – Ashley Barnes
6.85 – Jeff Hendrick
6.44 – Phil Bardsley


93: Steven Defour
84: James Tarkowski
72: Ben Mee
68: Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
63: Jack Cork
46: Nick Pope
34: Robbie Brady
28: Ashley Barnes
27: Phil Bardsley
19: Charlie Taylor
13: Stephen Ward
12: Sam Vokes
10: Ashley Westwood
9: Chris Wood
8: Scott Arfield
7: Kevin Long
5: Tom Heaton
3: Georges-Kévin NKoudou
2: Jeff Hendrick & Matt Lowton

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :