Share this page :

Burnley beat Bristol City 2-0 last Saturday to progress into the 5th round of the FA Cup and there was just one name on everyone’s lips at the end of the game, that of Belgian Steven Defour.

He had one of his best games in Burnley colours and added to it was an assist for the first goal scored by Sam Vokes and then a sensational goal to complete the scoring, as good a goal as you are likely to see.

It’s no surprise, therefore that he’s won both the man of the match vote and the player ratings.

He didn’t just win the man of the match, he won 79% of the vote with James Tarkowski able to take second place with just a 6% share. Third and fourth places went to Ben Mee and Joey Barton who had 5% and 4% of the vote respectively.

As for the ratings, again he was some distance ahead. He scored a rating of 8.29 out of 10 ahead of Mee whose rating of 7.43 gave him second place.

Despite coming on as a substitute with the game all but won, Jeff Hendrick’s performance won him third place with a rating of 7.29 and goalkeeper Nick Pope came fourth; his score was 7.04 out of 10.

It means ten points for Defour towards the player of the year with five points for Mee, three for Tarkowski, two for Hendrick and one each for Barton and Pope, his first ever point.

Those points take Mee eleven points clear of Michael Keane at the top of the Up the Clarets Player of the Year Table. Tom Heaton remains in third place but Hendrick is now within twelve points of him.

The vote continues for the Leicester game until the end of tomorrow. You can vote for your man of the match and post your player ratings on the message board.

The Bristol City result is below along with the current player of the year table.


79% – Steven Defour
6% – James Tarkowski
5% – Ben Mee
4% – Joey Barton
2% – Scott Arfield
1% – Jeff Hendrick & Michael Keane
1% – Tendayi Darikwa & Nick Pope
0% – Sam Vokes
0% – Ashley Barnes, Jon Flanagan & Johann Berg Gudmundsson


8.29 – Steven Defour
7.43 – Ben Mee
7.29 – Jeff Hendrick
7.04 – Nick Pope
7.00 – Joey Barton
6.96 – Michael Keane
6.89 – Scott Arfield
6.68 – Sam Vokes
6.57 – Johann Berg Gudmundsson
6.54 – James Tarkowski
6.25 – Ashley Barnes
5.07 – Jon Flanagan
5.04 – Tendayi Darikwa


93: Ben Mee
82: Michael Keane
65: Tom Heaton
53: Jeff Hendrick
47: Steven Defour
32: Ashley Barnes & Dean Marney
27: James Tarkowski
25: Johann Berg Gudmundsson
21: Stephen Ward
19: Andre Gray
13: George Boyd
10: Matt Lowton
9: Scott Arfield
8: Sam Vokes
7: Joey Barton, Aiden O’Neill & Paul Robinson
3: Tendayi Darikwa
1: Jon Flanagan, Michael Kightly & Nick Pope

Share this page :

Follow UpTheClarets: