Share this page :

ireland groupMick McCarthy is back in charge of the Republic of Ireland and he’s named five Burnley players in his first provisional squad ahead of two Euro 2020 qualifiers against Gibraltar and Georgia.

McCarthy has named a provisional squad of 38 which will be reduced prior to the first training session on Monday, 18th March and in that squad are central defenders Jimmy Dunne, who is currently on loan at Sunderland, and Kevin Long along with left-back Stephen Ward, who reached a half century of caps in his last appearance. The three defenders are joined by midfielders Jeff Hendrick and Robbie Brady.

The first of the two matches is against Gibraltar on Saturday 23rd March at the Victoria Stadium and they then return to Dublin for a home game against Georgia on the following Tuesday.

The Full Squad

Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough)
Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)
Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool)
Kieran O’Hara (Macclesfield, loan from Manchester United)
Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

Seamus Coleman (Everton)
Matt Doherty (Wolves)
Cyrus Christie (Fulham)
Richard Keogh (Derby)
John Egan (Sheffield United)
Shane Duffy (Brighton)
Kevin Long (Burnley)
Jimmy Dunne (Sunderland, loan from Burnley)
Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)
Derrick Williams (Blackburn)
Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Aiden McGeady (Sunderland)
Alan Judge (Ipswich)
James McCarthy (Everton)
Jeff Hendrick (Burnley)
Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa)
Alan Browne (Preston)
Harry Arter (Cardiff City, loan from Bournemouth)
Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa)
David Meyler (Coventry City, loan from Reading)
Shaun Williams (Millwall)
Robbie Brady (Burnley)
Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City)
James McClean (Stoke)
Daryl Horgan (Hibs)

Shane Long (Southampton)
Sean Maguire (Preston)
Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)
Scott Hogan (Sheffield United, loan from Aston Villa)
Aiden O’Brien (Millwall)
David McGoldrick (Sheffield United)
James Collins (Luton)
Padraig Amond (Newport)

Share this page :

Follow UpTheClarets: