Share this page :

heatonkeanebartongrayThree Burnley players were among the top fifteen Championship players named earlier today that were chosen by the managers in the league, and this evening it has been revealed that we have four in this season’s PFA Championship team.

Andre Gray won the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year Award at the Football League Awards last Sunday and today he was named number one in that top fifteen that also included Joey Barton at number four and Michael Keane in 15th place.

Middlesbrough led the way with four players included and there were also three from Hull, two from Brighton and one each from Sheffield Wednesday, Brentford and Fulham which meant Derby were the only top six side not to have a player included.

The top fifteen were

  1. Andre Gray (Burnley)
  2. Ross McCormack (Fulham)
  3. Alan Judge (Brentford)
  4. Joey Barton (Burnley)
  5. Fernando Forestieri (Sheffield Wednesday)
  6. Dale Stephens (Brighton)
  7. Daniel Ayala (Middlesbrough)
  8. Michael Dawson (Hull)
  9. Grant Leadbitter (Middlesbrough)
  10. George Friend (Middlesbrough)
  11. Andrew Robertson (Hull)
  12. Adam Clayton (Middlesbrough)
  13. Sam Clucas (Hull)
  14. Lewis Dunk (Brighton)
  15. Michael Keane (Burnley)

This evening, somewhat prematurely after what appears to have been a leak on social media, the PFA have confirmed their four winning teams ahead of this Sunday’s awards evening, and the same three Burnley players are in there along with Tom Heaton who has been named as the top goalkeeper.

It’s a 12 man team which suggests that Ayala and Dawson couldn’t be separated on votes to partner Keane who came out on top among the central defenders. Besides Heaton, Sheffield Wednesday’s Barry Bannan is the only other player to make the side who wasn’t included in that managers’ top fifteen.

The four Burnley players beats the three we had in the team two years ago. On that occasion all of Kieran Trippier, Jason Shackell and Danny Ings were named.

The 2015/16 PFA Championship team is: Tom Heaton (Burnley), Bruno Saltor (Brighton), Daniel Ayala (Middlesbrough) or Michael Dawson (Hull), Michael Keane (Burnley), George Friend (Middlesbrough), Adam Clayton (Middlesbrough), Alan Judge (Brentford), Joey Barton (Burnley), Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday), Ross McCormack (Fulham), Andre Gray (Burnley).

Share this page :

Follow UpTheClarets: