Share this page :

It wasn’t a good day for Burnley last Saturday at the Liberty Stadium as Swansea City took all three points when a stoppage time goal gave them a 3-2 win that they fully deserved.

Andre Gray scored both our goals, the first of them from the penalty spot, and his performance fully merited him winning both the man of the match vote and the player ratings which, as expected, were somewhat low.

1516 burnley andre gray 02 630x420Gray won his second man of the match vote of the season; the other was in the 4-1 home win against Sunderland when he scored a hat trick. This time he polled 50% of the vote with the two central defenders taking the next two places. Ben Mee secured a 26% share of the vote to take second place while Michael Keane finished third with 8%. Sam Vokes, who had come in for the suspended Ashley Barnes, was fourth with 4% of the vote.

Three of the four were in the top four places in the ratings too. Gray again was the clear winner with a rating of 7.61 but this time the two central defenders switched places with Keane in second place with 6.87 and a rating of 6.74 winning Mee third place.

They were the only three players to reach even the average scored of six out of ten and that allowed Matt Lowton, with a rating of just 5.91 out of 10, to win fourth place.

That result means the maximum ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year for Gray, five points each for Keane and Mee with one point apiece for Lowton and Vokes.

Keane, therefore, retains his three point lead over Mee in the player of the year table with Gray’s maximum moving him up four places to ninth.

The next man of the match vote will be underway on Sunday after the game against Liverpool at Anfield but you can vote until the end of tomorrow in our special poll to choose Burnley’s best Premier League goal. There is a selection of twenty of our first hundred goals and you can vote for up to three goals.

Below is the Swansea result and the current player of the year table.


50% – Andre Gray
26% – Ben Mee
8% – Michael Keane
4% – Sam Vokes
3% – Joey Barton
2% – George Boyd, Matt Lowton & Paul Robinson
2% – Jeff Hendrick
0% – Stephen Ward
0% – Scott Arfield & Robbie Brady


7.61 – Andre Gray
6.87 – Michael Keane
6.74 – Ben Mee
5.91 – Matt Lowton
5.70 – Joey Barton
5.35 – Stephen Ward
5.22 – Jeff Hendrick
4.83 – Scott Arfield
4.78 – Sam Vokes
4.30 – Paul Robinson
3.91 – Robbie Brady
3.78 – George Boyd


107: Michael Keane
104: Ben Mee
66: Tom Heaton
59: Jeff Hendrick
47: Steven Defour
41: Ashley Barnes
36: Joey Barton
32: Dean Marney
29: Andre Gray
27: James Tarkowski
25: Johann Berg Gudmundsson
24: Matt Lowton
23: Stephen Ward
13: George Boyd
9: Scott Arfield & Sam Vokes
7: Aiden O’Neill & Paul Robinson
3: Robbie Brady & Tendayi Darikwa
1: Jon Flanagan, Michael Kightly & Nick Pope

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :