Share this page :

decade fd ingsThe voting is over for selecting the best Burnley team of the last ten years with Ashley Barnes and Danny Ings winning the vote to claim those two forward positions for the team.

Right from the off last Thursday, Ings was clearly going to win one of the places and by the time the voting ended last night he’d won 649 votes. For a while, the second place wasn’t quite so clear cut but Barnes, with 508 votes, eventually pulled away from Robbie Blake who had to settle for third place with 441 votes.

There were so many players to choose from who looked worthy of a place in the team and besides Blake there was no place for any of Charlie Austin (223), Sam Vokes (191) and Jay Rodriguez (118), the three other players to receive more than a hundred votes, while Andre Gray and Chris Wood, with 52 and 35 votes each were the other  two players to receive any significant number of votes.

Best Forwards Result

57% – Danny Ings
44% – Ashley Barnes
38% – Robbie Blake
19% – Charlie Austin
17% – Sam Vokes
10% – Jay Rodriguez
5% – Andre Gray
3% – Chris Wood
1% – Martin Paterson
1% – Chris Iwelumo
1% – Lukas Jutkiewicz
0% – Steven Fletcher
0% – David Nugent

So that’s it, a team that would line up: Tom Heaton, Kieran Trippier, Michael Keane, Ben Mee, Stephen Ward, Wade Elliott, Dean Marney, Joey Barton, Scott Arfield, Danny Ings and Ashley Barnes.

Looking at all the polls run to select the team, the best of the rest have won places on the bench with the option of a goalkeeper, central defender, full back, central midfielder, wide player and two forwards so step up Nick Pope, James Tarkowski, Charlie Taylor, Steven Defour, Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson, Robbie Blake and Charlie Austin.

decade gk heatondecade defencedecade midfielddecade forwards
decade subs

Eleven of those 18 players were brought to Burnley by Sean Dyche, four by Eddie Howe and one each by Brian Laws and Steve Cotterill although Blake had also previously been signed by Stan Ternent.

We’ll just allow a vote now, to run until the end of Wednesday, to decide who should manage this team from the four potential options. The poll is below and, if viewing the desktop version of the site, on every page below the monthly archive links.

Who has been our best manager in the last ten years?

  • Sean Dyche (93%, 750 Votes)
  • Brian Laws (3%, 22 Votes)
  • Owen Coyle (2%, 20 Votes)
  • Eddie Howe (2%, 16 Votes)

Total Voters: 808

Loading ... Loading ...
Share this page :

Follow UpTheClarets: