Share this page :

With the first international break of the season coming after this weekend’s league games, countries are beginning to name their squads and today two Burnley goalkeepers have received call ups.

Newest signing Wayne Hennessey is in the Wales squad for games against Finland, Belarus and Estonia and Bailey Peacock-Farrell has been named by Northern Ireland.

Hennessey currently has 96 caps for Wales, behind only Chris Gunter who is currently on 102. However, he saw Leicester’s Danny Ward play well in Euro 2020 and it could be that he has a big task to reach three figures.

With Ward expected to play in the two World Cup qualifiers against Belarus and Estonia, Hennessey could play in the friendly against Finland which kicks off the three games. That’s on 1st September in Finland, after which they have the World Cup qualifiers against Belarus in Russia before taking on Estonia at Cardiff City Stadium.

The Wales Squad

Goalkeepers: Wayne Hennessey (Burnley), Danny Ward (Leicester), Adam Davies (Stoke).

Defenders: Chris Gunter (Charlton), Ben Davies (Tottenham), Ethan Ampadu (Chelsea), Chris Mepham (Bournemouth), Joe Rodon (Tottenham), Neco Williams (Liverpool), Tom Lockyer (Luton), James Lawrence (St. Pauli), Rhys Norrington-Davies (Stoke).

Midfielders: Aaron Ramsey (Juventus), Joe Allen (Stoke), Matthew Smith (Hull, loan from Manchester City), Joe Morrell (Portsmouth), Dylan Levitt (Dundee United), Jonny Williams (Swindon), Harry Wilson (Fulham), David Brooks (Bournemouth), George Thomas (QPR), Rubin Colwill (Cardiff), Brennan Johnson (Nottingham Forest).

Forwards: Tyler Roberts (Leeds), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Daniel James (Manchester United), Kieffer Moore (Cardiff).

Peacock-Farrell, who is spending the season on loan at Sheffield Wednesday, is very much first choice for Northern Ireland. They two have three games with a friendly against Estonia in Tallin sandwiched by World Cup qualifiers against Lithuanian in Vilnius and Switzerland at Windsor Park.

Peacock-Farrell, who has made a terrific start to the season with five clean sheets including a penalty save has already won 23 caps for Northern Ireland.

The Northern Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Sheffield Wednesday, loan from Burnley), Trevor Carson (Dundee United), Conor Hazard (Celtic).

Defenders: Jonny Evans (Leicester), Craig Cathcart (Watford), Stuart Dallas (Leeds), Shane Ferguson (Rotherham), Michael Smith (Hearts), Jamal Lewis (Newcastle), Daniel Ballard (Millwall, loan from Arsenal), Ciaron Brown (Cardiff).

Midfielders: Steven Davis (Rangers), Corry Evans (Sunderland), Niall McGinn (Aberdeen), George Saville (Millwall), Jordan Thompson (Stoke), Ali McCann (St Johnstone), Gavin Whyte (Oxford, loan from Cardiff), Paddy McNair (Middlesbrough), Jordan Jones (Wigan), Conor Bradley (Liverpool).

Forwards: Josh Magennis (Hull), Conor Washington (Charlton), Shayne Lavery (Blackpool), Dion Charles (Accrington).

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :