Share this page :

Burnley’s 2-0 win against Liverpool four days ago has been hailed as one of the best performances in years by Clarets’ fans and that has been reflected in the exceptionally high player ratings received for each of the players.

1516 burnley michael keane 00 630x420Central defender Michael Keane was the undoubted winner in both the ratings and the man of the match vote. He polled 30% of the vote which ended last night, ahead of midfielder Dean Marney, the winner against Swansea, who took second place with a 21% share. Ben Mee claimed third place with 12% while 11% of the vote gave Andre Gray, who had an assist on the first goal and scored the second, fourth place.

Last week, the top four in the man of the match vote against Swansea were also the top four in the ratings, and that’s the case again. The performances of the two central defenders were such that they’ve taken the top two places this time. Keane has returned a rating of 9.30 out of 10 with his central defensive partner Mee just missing out on a nine; his rating was 8.97. Third place this time went the way of Gray with 8.84 and Marney came in fourth with a rating of 8.70 out of 10.

That result has given Keane the maximum ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year. Mee has won five points with four for Marney and three for Gray. Those four players and Sam Vokes are the only players to have won any points in the first two games with Keane, on 15 points, now moving ahead of Marney, with 14, into first place.

The result for the Liverpool game is below, followed by the points total for the player of the year. And the voting will start for tonight’s Accrington game within an hour of the final whistle.


30% – Michael Keane
21% – Dean Marney
12% – Ben Mee
11% – Andre Gray
10% – George Boyd
5% – Sam Vokes
3% – Steven Defour
2% – Scott Arfield & Stephen Ward
1% – Matt Lowton
1% – Tom Heaton
1% – Johann Berg Gudmundsson


9.30 – Michael Keane
8.97 – Ben Mee
8.84 – Andre Gray
8.70 – Dean Marney
8.63 – Sam Vokes
8.28 – George Boyd
8.13 – Stephen Ward
8.03 – Matt Lowton
8.02 – Tom Heaton
7.94 – Scott Arfield & Johann Berg Gudmundsson
7.92 – Steven Defour


15: Michael Keane
14: Dean Marney
8: Andre Gray
5: Ben Mee
4: Sam Vokes

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :