Share this page :

After the defeats against Chelsea and Manchester City, we picked up a point from a 1-1 drawn in the home game against Brighton last Saturday.

The man of the match and player ratings became a two way battle between full back Matt Lowton and striker Matěj Vydra with them winning one each and finishing second in the other.

Vydra it was who won the man of the match with 56% of the vote, some way ahead of Lowton who took second place with a 32% share. Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson was third with 8% while I think it is the first time anyone has finished in the top four with as little as a 1% share but that’s the case with James Tarkowski and Ashley Westwood.

It was a straight swap between the top two in the player ratings. Lowton was the winner with a rating of 8.19 out of 10 while Vydra was comfortably second, scoring 7.95. Again Guðmundsson was third; he had a rating of 7.32 with Ben Mee taking fourth place with a rating of 6.87 out of 10.

That’s eight points for both Lowton and Vydra towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year while Guðmundsson has won four points with each of Mee, Tarkowski and Westwood picking up one point.

Those points have again made little difference at the top of the table where Pope’s lead has been reduced by just one point to eleven. Vydra and Lowton have moved into seventh and eight places.

The VOTE for the Bournemouth game is still open and will remain so until the end of tomorrow with the Crystal Palace vote getting underway soon after the final whistle this Saturday.

The Brighton result is below along with the current player of the year table.


56% – Matěj Vydra
32% – Matt Lowton
8% – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
1% – James Tarkowski & Ashley Westwood
0% – Ashley Barnes & Erik Pieters
0% – Ben Mee & Nick Pope
0% – Jack Cork & Dwight McNeil


8.19 – Matt Lowton
7.95 – Matěj Vydra
7.32 – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
6.87 – Ben Mee
6.84 – Nick Pope
6.79 – Ashley Westwood
6.76 – James Tarkowski
6.56 – Dwight McNeil
6.49 – Erik Pieters
6.40 – Jack Cork
6.13 – Ashley Barnes


88: Nick Pope
77: James Tarkowski
63: Ben Mee
56: Charlie Taylor
53: Josh Brownhill
36: Dwight McNeil
27: Matěj Vydra
24: Matt Lowton
20: Robbie Brady
19: Jay Rodriguez
17: Kevin Long & Ashley Westwood
14: Phil Bardsley & Jimmy Dunne
12: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
10: Josh Benson, Jack Cork, Will Norris & Erik Pieters
6: Bobby Thomas
5: Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
4: Ashley Barnes & Chris Wood
2: Joel Mumbongo & Dale Stephens
1: Anthony Glennon

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :