Share this page :

1819 burnley dwight mcneil 01 1000x500England’s under-20 team are taking part in the Maurice Revello Tournament in France and will play Japan, Portugal and Chile in the group stages of a competition we’ve won in each of the last three years.

Dwight McNeil has got his second call up at this level in a squad that includes players who have played previously during the last season with just one addition, that of Derby County full back Jayden Bogle who gets his first call up.

Coach Paul Simpson said: “I’m really pleased with the squad we’ve got for the tournament. It’s a new group, a real mix of ages and an opportunity for some of those who haven’t been as involved this season to play international football. It’s also a great chance for players to experience high-level tournament football, going through the processes of preparation, playing, recovering and then getting ready for the next game.

“This tournament is very prestigious and one that England have done very well in in the past and our group will be looking to emulate what’s gone before us. We’re expecting every game to be tough and we know a number of the teams are coming with their Olympic preparation squads but these are the sorts of challenging opposition that we want our players to be facing for their development.”

The first game is against Japan on Saturday 1st June in Provence and that will be followed by games against Portugal, 4th June in Salon, and Chile, 8th June in Fos-sur-Mer. Should we progress, the semi-finals are on Wednesday 12th June with the final in Salon on Saturday 15th June.

The England Squad

Goalkeepers: Ellery Balcombe (Brentford), Nathan Trott (West Ham)

Defenders: Jayden Bogle (Derby), Trevoh Chalobah (Chelsea), Marc Guehi (Chelsea), Reece James (Chelsea), Max Lowe (Derby), Tom Pearce (Leeds), Steven Sessegnon (Fulham), Easah Suliman (Aston Villa)

Midfielders: Sam Field (West Brom), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Dwight McNeil (Burnley), Josh Sims (Southampton), Joe Willock (Arsenal)

Forwards: Kyle Edwards (West Brom), Eberechi Eze (QPR), George Hirst (OH Leuven), Danny Loader (Reading), Eddie Nketiah (Arsenal), Marcus Tavernier (Middlesbrough)

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :