Share this page :

A week last Monday, Burnley beat Derby County 4-1 in the first game played following the launch of Up the Clarets, and Ben Mee just about edged out Matt Lowton in the man of the match vote and the player ratings.

1516 burnley ben mee 00 300x500We are currently running the voting polls for the man of the match on the Bee Hole End message board but that is currently under review. However, it was successful for the Derby game, bringing in a healthier number of votes than I’d seen this season with four players in a big battle to come out on top.

Mee won it, but only just. He had 25% of the vote which was ahead of Lowton with 24%. The next two places were taken by Scott Arfield and Joey Barton who collected 22% and 19% of the vote respectively.

The same top four took the points in the player ratings too. Again Mee was first with 8.41 out of 10 and again Lowton was in second place with a rating of 8.36. Third and fourth this time switched round. Barton took third place with 8.33 and Arfield came fourth; his rating was 8.08 out of 10.

The Up the Clarets Player of the Year table has taken into account the points won in previous games from the totals I’ve kept and so the points here will be added to that. The points to be added are ten for Mee, six for Lowton and three each for Arfield and Barton.

Barton now has a very healthy lead at the top of the table. He’s 17 points clear of second place which is now held by Mee whilst Michael Keane, who led until recently, is now a further four points behind in third place.

We’ll have the Arsenal result soon, but you can still vote for the man of the match and place your player ratings for the 1-1 draw at Sheffield Wednesday.

Click HERE to vote for the man of the match and HERE to post your player ratings.

The Derby result can be found below.


25% – Ben Mee
24% – Matt Lowton
22% – Scott Arfield
19% – Joey Barton
5% – Michael Keane
1% – George Boyd, Andre Gray, David Jones, Sam Vokes & Stephen Ward


8.41 – Ben Mee
8.36 – Matt Lowton
8.33 – Joey Barton
8.08 – Scott Arfield
7.70 – Michael Keane
7.50 – Stephen Ward
7.48 – Andre Gray
7.12 – Sam Vokes
7.09 – Tom Heaton
6.86 – David Jones
6.50 – George Boyd


97: Joey Barton
80: Ben Mee
76: Michael Keane
65: Tom Heaton
56: Tendayi Darikwa
54: Michael Duff
53: Andre Gray
35: David Jones
23: Scott Arfield
22: Sam Vokes
20: Dean Marney
17: Matt Lowton
15: Michael Kightly
14: George Boyd
11: Rouwen Hennings
9: Lukas Jutkiewicz
8: Stephen Ward
7: Matt Taylor
6: Fredrik Ulvestad

Share this page :

Follow UpTheClarets: