Share this page :

We followed up the 4-0 home defeat against Leeds with another loss on the Turf, this one against Liverpool who beat us 3-0.

This was a night, in front of some fans for the first time in fourteen months, when we didn’t play anything like as badly as the scoreline might suggest and it was a game that we could so easily have got something from.

Captain Ben Mee was considered the best play, winning both the man of the match and the player ratings to ensure a third place finish for the Up the Clarets Player of the Year.

He won 25% of the man of the match vote, ahead of Josh Brownhill and Charlie Taylor who jointly took second place with 18% with James Tarkowski in fourth place; he won 11% of the vote.

In the player ratings it was Mee again on top with 7.56 out of 10, this time followed by Matt Lowton who scored 7.29. Third place went the way of Chris Wood who had a rating of 7.20 while 7.17 out of 10 won fourth place for Tarkowski.

The points awarded were ten for Mee, three for all of Brownhill, Lowton and Taylor, and two points for both Tarkowski and Wood. Those points increased Tarkowski’s position at the top of the player of the year table to six points.

The Sheffield United vote ends tomorrow with the result to be published on Thursday.


25% – Ben Mee
18% – Josh Brownhill & Charlie Taylor
11% – James Tarkowski
10% – Matt Lowton & Chris Wood
2% – Will Norris
2% – Dwight McNeil
1% – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
1% – Jack Cork & Ashley Westwood


7.56 – Ben Mee
7.29 – Matt Lowton
7.20 – Chris Wood
7.17 – James Tarkowski
7.00 – Josh Brownhill & Charlie Taylor
6.51 – Ashley Westwood
6.41 – Dwight McNeil
5.95 – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
5.90 – Jack Cork
4.73 – Will Norris


118: James Tarkowski
112: Nick Pope
92: Ben Mee
79: Charlie Taylor
73: Matěj Vydra
70: Chris Wood
68: Dwight McNeil
65: Josh Brownhill
53: Matt Lowton
32: Ashley Westwood
25: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
24: Jay Rodriguez
21: Erik Pieters
20: Robbie Brady
19: Jack Cork & Kevin Long
16: Jimmy Dunne
15: Phil Bardsley
10: Josh Benson & Will Norris
6: Bobby Thomas
5: Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
4: Ashley Barnes
3: Dale Stephens
2: Joel Mumbongo
1: Anthony Glennon

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :