Share this page :

The Premier League’s most experienced referee Mike Dean will be in charge when we travel to Leicester tomorrow and it won’t be the first time he’s refereed this particular fixture.

He first refereed a game between us back in the 2006/07 season when Leicester won 1-0 at the Turf with a John McGreal own goal. The next was Leicester’s 4-0 win at Leicester in April 2011 when Ben Mee was in their side during a loan spell. More recently he was in charge of our 1-0 win against them on the Turf on 31st January last year when Sam Vokes scored the only goal of the game.

Embed from Getty Images
But he’s no stranger to Burnley games and tomorrow will be his 35th since the 1997/98 season and it has included some problematic games, none more so than the 2-2 draw at Bradford City in 2002/03 and the defeat at Southampton two seasons ago, but he’s also turned in some outstanding performances which shows why he has been rated one of our top officials for some years.

Since the beginning of the 2007/08 season, his performances have been scrutinised with our RATE THE REF feature and right now he’s joint top alongside Andre Marriner with a rating of 78.54 out of 100.

He’s already refereed Leicester this season. He was in charge of their 2-0 home win against Wolves back in August when he sent off Jamie Vardy, one of three red cards this season; the others have been Manchester United’s Nemanja Matic in a 2-1 win at Watford and Joe Ralls in Cardiff’s 1-0 defeat at Spurs.

There have also been 40 yellow cards in his ten games to date of which 19 have gone to home team players and 21 to away team players. In his last game, Spurs’ 3-2 win at Wolves last week, he yellow carded Ryan Bennett of Wolves along with Spurs pair Juan Foyth and Harry Winks.

The assistant referees tomorrow are Darren Cann and Dan Robathan. The fourth official is Stuart Attwell whose last Burnley game was last season’s 1-1 home draw against West Ham.

Previous Burnley Games – Mike Dean

SeasonOpponentsVResYRBurnley Players Carded
1997/98Lutonh1-130Y: Cooke
1998/99Walsalla1-340Y: Armstrong, Brass, Payton
1999/2000Chesterfieldh2-120Y: Cowan
1999/2000Wiganh0-050Y: Johnrose, Thomas
2000/01Crystal Palaceh2-210
2002/03Bradford Citya2-262Y: Cook, Papadopoulos, Taylor
2003/04Bradford Cityh4-000
2003/04Prestona3-540Y: Blake, Gnohere, West
2003/04Ipswichh4-230Y: Chaplow, McGregor
2004/05Blackburnh0-050Y: Camara, Hyde
2005/06Leedsh1-250Y: Harley, Hyde
2005/06Crystal Palaceh0-040Y: Harley, Branch
2006/07Sunderlandh2-230Y: Hyde
2006/07Leicesterh0-130Y: Caldwell
2007/08Blackpoolh2-220Y: Akinbiyi, Caldwell
2008/09West Broma2-200
2008/09Sheffield UnitedW1-042Y: Carlisle, Kalvenes
2009/10Tottenhama0-520Y: Bikey
2009/10Arsenalh1-120Y: Caldwell, Eagles
2009/10Blackburnh0-150Y: Alexander, Fox, Duff
2010/11Leicestera0-430Y: Marney, Rodriguez, Bikey
2012/13Peterboroughh5-220Y: Mills
2013/14Blackburna2-130Y: Arfield
2014/15Crystal Palacea0-050Y: Ings, Sordell, Boyd
2014/15Newcastlea3-360Y: Ings, Mee, Trippier, Boyd
2014/15West Bromh2-240
2014/15Arsenalh0-120Y: Mee, Duff
2015/16Bristol Citya2-100
2016/17Southamptona1-330Y: Defour, Marney
2016/17Leicesterh1-010Y: Lowton
2017/18Newcastleh1-030Y: Guðmundsson, Cork, Tarkowski
2017/18Manchester Unitedh0-160Y: Mee, Bardsley, Defour
2017/18Stokea1-130Y: Barnes
Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :