Share this page :

Jon Moss will referee our FA Cup tie tomorrow against MK in what will be the second occasion he’s taken charge of a Burnley game in this competition.

We have to go back almost ten years to the last time; it was the fourth round game against Burton that we won 3-1. Chris Eagles scored twice that day with Martin Paterson adding a late third in what was Eddie Howe’s first home game in charge of the Clarets.

Embed from Getty Images
He’s presided over a number of our games since, some good and quite a few more not so good but he was the man with the whistle last season when we beat Manchester United 2-0 at Old Trafford. It was one of five Burnley games he refereed last season, the last of them being the final game of the season against Brighton and that was the last time he did referee us.

He’s one of our most experienced referees and he rarely gets games outside of the top flight in league football. His last Football League game was as far back as November 2019. This season he’s refereed twelve games in total of which ten have been in the Premier League and two in the League Cup.

Those games have brought a total of 33 yellow cards of which sixteen have gone to home team players and seventeen to away team players. There have been no red cards; the last time he sent a player off was in last season’s FA Cup when he dismissed Norwich’s Timm Klose in their 2-1 extra time defeat against Manchester United.

He’ll have Geoff Eltringham on the touchline tomorrow as fourth official; his most recent game was the 0-0 home draw against Cardiff April 2016. Anthony Taylor will be on VAR duty and he last refereed us back in early December when we drew 1-1 against Everton at home.

Match Officials

Referee: Jon Moss
Assistant Referees: Marc Perry & Harry Lennard
Fourth Official: Geoff Eltringham
VAR: Anthony Taylor
Assistant VAR: Andy Halliday

Previous Burnley Games – Jon Moss

SeasonOpponentsVResYRBurnley Players Carded
2009/10Hartlepoola2-151Y: Rodriguez, Eckersley, Easton R: Eckersley
2010/11Middlesbrougha1-230Y: Bikey, Carlisle, Wallace
2010/11Burtonh3-130Y: Carlisle, Marney
2010/11Nott'm Foresta0-241Y: Bikey, Fox, Duff R: Bartley
2012/13Boltonh2-030Y: Marney
2014/15West Broma0-430Y: Chalobah, Mee
2014/15QPRa0-231Y: Barnes
2014/15West Hama0-151Y: Wallace, Mee R: Duff
2015/16Wolvesa0-040Y: Arfield, Mee
2016/17Swanseah0-150Y: Jones, Ward, Lowton
2016/17Arsenala1-241Y: Lowton, Marney, Barnes
2017/18Evertona1-040Y: Defour, Arfield
2018/19Manchester Unitedh0-251Y: McNeil, Bardsley
2018/19Manchester Citya0-540Y: Cork, Hendrick
2018/19Manchester Uniteda2-240Y: Barnes, Taylor, Cork
2019/20Leicestera1-230Y: Hendrick, Wood, Lowton
2019/20Manchester Cityh1-420Y: Hendrick
2019/20Manchester Uniteda2-020Y: Taylor, Westwood
2019/20Tottenhamh1-190Y: Taylor, Tarkowski, Cork, Hendrick, Westwood
2019/20Brightonh1-230Y: Brownhill, Bardsley, Pieters
Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :