Share this page :

Dara O’Shea scored his first ever Premier League goal when he headed our equaliser at Liverpool last Saturday in what was another outstanding performance from the central defender that won him both the man of the match and player ratings.

On a day when we looked good in open play, O’Shea was undoubtedly the pick of the defenders who generally faired really well in both the vote and very definitely in the player ratings. O’Shea won the man of the match with 46% of the vote with Lorenz Assignon, his right side partner in defence., coming second with 18%. Midfielder Sander Berge was third with 11% while 9% of the vote earned fourth place for James Trafford.

In the player ratings it was the back four who came out on top. O’Shea was again the winner with a rating of 7.67 out of ten and again Assignon took second place; his rating was 7.12. Making his first Burnley start, Maxime Estève was third with a rating of 7.00 and Hannes Delcroix, back from injury and playing at left-back, came fourth with a rating of 6.67 out of ten.

The ten points won by O’Shea have lifted him into fourth place in the Up the Clarets Player of the Year table, behind Berge , who won two points, Luca Koleosho and Trafford, who won one point. Other points winners were Assignon who, as he did in the Fulham draw, won six points with two for Estève and one for Delcroix.

We are back up to date now with the next vote set to get underway this Saturday after our home game against Arsenal. The Liverpool result and the current player of the year table are below.


46% – Dara O’Shea
18% – Lorenz Assignon
11% – Sander Berge
9% – James Trafford
6% – Maxime Estève
3% – Josh Brownhill & Wilson Odobert
2% – David Datro Fofana
2% – Hannes Delcroix
1% – Zeki Amdouni
0% – Aaron Ramsey


7.67 – Dara O’Shea
7.12 – Lorenz Assignon
7.00 – Maxime Estève
6.67 – Hannes Decroix
6.52 – Sander Berge
5.52 – Wilson Odobert
5.24 – David Datro Fofana
4.97 – Josh Brownhill
4.91 – Aaron Ramsey
4.61 – Zeki Amdouni
4.42 – James Trafford


97: Sander Berge
66: Lyle Foster
57: James Trafford
55: Dara O’Shea
54: Luca Koleosho
37: Jordan Beyer
32: Charlie Taylor
29: Josh Brownhill
27: Wilson Odobert
22: Ameen Al-Dakhil
16: David Datro Fofana
15: Zeki Amdouni & Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
14: Hannes Delcroix
12: Lorenz Assignon, Arijanet Muric & Vitinho
11:Hjalmar Ekdal
10: Josh Cullen
8: Anass Zaroury
7: Jacob Bruun Larsen
5: Aaron Ramsey
4: Maxime Estève & Nathan Redmond
1: Jay Rodriguez

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :