Share this page :

There weren’t too many players who came out of last week’s 0-0 draw against West Brom with too much credit although two of them did get ratings above the average while taking 84% of the man of the match vote between them.

James Tarkowski and Nick Pope currently lead the chase for the Up the Clarets Player of the Year, won in each of the previous two seasons by Tarkowski, and the pair did themselves no harm as they dominated the scoring.

Tarkowski won the man of the match. He had 43% of the vote with Pope behind him in second place with 41%, just seven votes less. It left the two full backs to take the next two places; Matt Lowton won 4% of the vote to take third place with just 2% winning fourth place for Charlie Taylor.

The top two were reversed in the player ratings. This time it was Pope on top with a rating of 6.96 out of 10, followed by Tarkowski with 6.45. There was a sizeable drop to the rest with Ben Mee securing third place with 5.58 and Lowton finishing fourth with 5.22 out of 10.

The two point gap between Tarkowski and Pope at the top of the player of the year table remains. Both won eight points and there were points for Lowton (3), Mee (2) and Taylor (1). With Mee now 29 points behind Pope it is beginning to look very much like a battle between the two of them for this season’s award.

Our next vote will be underway this Sunday after the game at Spurs and below you can see the West Brom result and the current player of the year table.


43% – James Tarkowski
41% – Nick Pope
4% – Matt Lowton
2% – Charlie Taylor
2% – Ben Mee
2% – Ashley Westwood
1% – Josh Brownhill & Matej Vydra
1% – Jack Cork
1% – Dwight McNeil
0% – Jay Rodriguez


6.96 – Nick Pope
6.45 – James Tarkowski
5.58 – Ben Mee
5.22 – Matt Lowton
4.77 – Charlie Taylor
4.33 – Matej Vydra
4.07 – Jack Cork
4.01 – Jay Rodriguez
3.96 – Dwight McNeil
3.87 – Josh Brownhill
3.61 – Ashley Westwood


98: James Tarkowski
96: Nick Pope
67: Ben Mee
57: Charlie Taylor
53: Josh Brownhill
46: Dwight McNeil
37: Matt Lowton
27: Matěj Vydra
24: Jay Rodriguez & Ashley Westwood
22: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
20: Robbie Brady
19: Kevin Long
16: Jimmy Dunne
15: Phil Bardsley & Jack Cork
10: Josh Benson, Will Norris & Erik Pieters
6: Bobby Thomas
5: Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
4: Ashley Barnes & Chris Wood
3: Dale Stephens
2: Joel Mumbongo
1: Anthony Glennon


Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :