Share this page :

1819 burnley nick pope new deal 1000x500Nick Pope has won his place back in the Burnley team just over a year since suffering a serious injury in the Europa League qualifier at Aberdeen and, after three Premier League games, has won his place back in the England squad.

The real disappointment is that he is the only Burnley player to be called up but Pope will be alongside former Burnley players Tom Heaton, Kieran Trippier and Michael Keane for two European qualifiers against Bulgaria at Wembley on Saturday 7th September and then three days later against Kosovo at Southampton.

The Full England Squad

Tom Heaton (Aston Villa)
Jordan Pickford (Everton)
Nick Pope (Burnley)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
Ben Chilwell (Leicester)
Joe Gomez (Liverpool)
Michael Keane (Everton)
Harry Maguire (Manchester United)
Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa)
Danny Rose (Tottenham)
Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid)
Aaron Wan-Bissaka (Manchester United)

Ross Barkley (Chelsea)
Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
James Maddison (Leicester)
Mason Mount (Chelsea)
Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Liverpool)
Declan Rice (West Ham)
Harry Winks (Tottenham)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Jesse Lingard (Manchester United)
Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)
Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)
Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
Callum Wilson (Bournemouth)

Pope won’t be the only player on international duty for Burnley. Kevin Long and Jeff Hendrick are both in the final Ireland squad who have a qualifier in Dublin against Switzerland on Thursday 5th September before playing Bulgaria, also at the Aviva in Dublin, in a friendly on the following Tuesday.

The Full Republic of Ireland Squad

Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough)
Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)
Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

Seamus Coleman (Everton)
Matt Doherty (Wolves)
Shane Duffy (Brighton)
Richard Keogh (Derby County)
John Egan (Sheffield United)
Kevin Long (Burnley)
Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

Alan Judge (Ipswich)
Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City)
Alan Browne (Preston)
Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers)
Jeff Hendrick (Burnley)
Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa)
James McCarthy (Crystal Palace)
Glenn Whelan (Hearts)
Josh Cullen (Charlton)
James McClean (Stoke)
Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)

Callum Robinson (Sheffield United)
Sean Maguire (Preston)
Scott Hogan (Stoke City)
David McGoldrick (Sheffield United)

Bailey Peacock-Farrell has received his first Northern Ireland call up since joining Burnley. They start with a friendly on 5th September against Luxembourg at Windsor Park before facing a tough qualifier against Germany on the following Monday at the same venue.

The Full Northern Ireland Squad

Michael McGovern (Norwich)
Bailey Peacock-Farrell (Burnley)
Trevor Carson (Motherwell)

Jonny Evans (Leicester)
Craig Cathcart (Watford)
Conor McLaughlin (Sunderland)
Jamal Lewis (Norwich)
Michael Smith (Hearts)
Tom Flanagan (Sunderland)
Callum Morris (Ross County)

Steven Davis (Rangers)
Niall McGinn (Aberdeen)
Corry Evans (Blackburn)
Stuart Dallas (Leeds)
Shane Ferguson (Millwall)
Paddy McNair (Sunderland)
George Saville (Middlesbrough)
Jordan Jones (Rangers)
Gavin Whyte (Cardiff)
Jordan Thompson (Blackpool)
Liam Donnelly (Motherwell)
Josh Magennis (Hull)
Conor Washington (Hearts)
Liam Boyce (Burton)
Paul Smyth (Wycombe)

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :