Share this page :

Burnley fell to a 2-0 defeat a week ago at home against Manchester City with goalkeeper Nick Pope winning both the man of the match and the player ratings.

Pope conceded two goals in the first half but kept City at bay, particularly early in the second half and his performance won him 34% of the vote for the man of the match. Behind him, in second place, was Kevin Long, playing first team football for the first time since February of last year. Long played well and was not too far behind Pope with a 28% share. Both Josh Brownhill and James Tarkowski collected 7% of the vote each with Brownhill just beating Tarkowski to third place.

In the player ratings, it was Pope again with a rating of 6.96 out of ten and again Long was runner up with 6.57. Tarkowski was third; he had a rating of 6.46 while Aaron Lennon came fourth with a rating of 6.11 out of ten.

It’s given Pope ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year. Long won six points, with three for Tarkowski, two for Brownhill and one point for Lennon. It’s taken Pope above Charlie Taylor into second place but some 21 points behind leader Tarkowski, now the clear favourite to win for a fourth successive season. Lennon has joined Nathan Collins in fourth place.

Today is the final day to VOTE for your man of the match against Everton and below is the Manchester City result followed by the current player of the year table.


34% – Nick Pope
28% – Kevin Long
7% – Josh Brownhill
7% – James Tarkowski
6% – Aaron Lennon
5% – Maxwel Cornet
5% – Jack Cork
2% – Wout Weghorst
2% – Charlie Taylor
1% – Dwight McNeil & Connor Roberts
1% – Ashley Westwood


6.96 – Nick Pope
6.57 – Kevin Long
6.46 – James Tarkowski
6.11 – Aaron Lennon
6.00 – Maxwel Cornet
5.96 – Jack Cork
5.93 – Josh Brownhill
5.50 – Charlie Taylor
5.39 – Wout Weghorst
5.25 – Ashley Westwood
5.21 – Connor Roberts
4.82 – Dwight McNeil


97: James Tarkowski
76: Nick Pope
67: Charlie Taylor
53: Nathan Collins & Aaron Lennon
52: Dwight McNeil
49: Ben Mee
48: Maxwel Cornet
47: Josh Brownhill
26: Matt Lowton
23: Wout Weghorst
21: Jay Rodriguez
20: Wayne Hennessey
16: Connor Roberts
13: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
12: Matěj Vydra
11: Chris Wood
10: Phil Bardsley
7: Erik Pieters
6: Kevin Long & Dale Stephens
5: Jack Cork
1: Ashley Westwood

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :