Share this page :

At least three outstanding saves in the game, Nick Pope was very much at his best in last Tuesday’s home defeat against Leicester City.

His performance, and rightly so, won him both the man of the match vote and the player ratings and it’s very fair to say, on a disappointing night, that he was a clear winner.

Becoming the first player to pick up four man of the match awards this season, he did so with a massive 82% of the vote and with Aaron Lennon winning 11% to finish second it left the rest with very few of the votes. Josh Brownhill was third with 3% while Dwight McNeil and James Tarkowski shared fourth place having secured just 1% of the vote each.

There were just two players who recorded player ratings higher than seven out of ten and just Pope who went above eight. His rating of 8.66 was a clear winner, way ahead of Lennon, who was second again with a rating of 7.27. Tarkowski came third, just ahead of Brownhill; they had ratings of 6.38 and 6.30 out of ten respectively.

It’s given Pope ten points towards our player of the year with Lennon winning six points. There were three points for both Brownhill and Tarkowski with a single point for McNeil. Those points have taken Pope within two points of second place Charlie Taylor but Tarkowski has extended his lead at the top and now sits eighteen points above Taylor.

The Chelsea Vote will end at the end of today and below you can see the Leicester result and the current player of the year table.


82% – Nick Pope
11% – Aaron Lennon
3% – Josh Brownhill
1% – Dwight McNeil & James Tarkowski
1% – Ashley Westwood
0% – Nathan Collins & Wout Weghorst
0% – Maxwel Cornet & Charlie Taylor
0% – Ben Mee & Connor Roberts


8.66 – Nick Pope
7.27 – Aaron Lennon
6.38 – James Tarkowski
6.30 – Josh Brownhill
6.29 – Ben Mee
6.14 – Nathan Collins
5.73 – Wout Weghorst
5.70 – Dwight McNeil
5.57 – Charlie Taylor
5.39 – Connor Roberts
4.64 – Maxwel Cornet
4.50 – Ashley Westwood


84: James Tarkowski
66: Charlie Taylor
62: Nick Pope
50: Nathan Collins
49: Dwight McNeil & Ben Mee
46: Maxwel Cornet
42: Aaron Lennon
39: Josh Brownhill
26: Matt Lowton
23: Wout Weghorst
20: Wayne Hennessey
16: Jay Rodriguez
15: Connor Roberts
13: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
12: Matěj Vydra
11: Chris Wood
10: Phil Bardsley
7: Erik Pieters
6: Dale Stephens
5: Jack Cork
1: Ashley Westwood

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :