Share this page :

Last Wednesday’s home game against Manchester City proved to be difficult for us and it was a night when James Tarkowski won more player of the year points than anyone else.

Tarkowski wasn’t the man of the match winner though. That honour went to Matěj Vydra who definitely came closest to giving Manchester City any defensive problems. He won with a 39% of the vote, ahead of Tarkowski who was in second place with a 28% share. Nick Pope took third place with 8% while 6$% of the vote gave Erik Pieters fourth place.

Tarkowski was the player ratings winner with a rating of 6.78 out of 10, beating his defensive partner Ben Mee who was second with 6.51. Vydra was third in the ratings with 6.49 while Pieters again took fourth place with a rating of 6.22 out of 10.

It gave Tarkowski eight points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with Vydra just behind with seven points. Me won three points with both Pieters and Pope winning two points. That’s seen Tarkowski move clear of the group challenging Pope who still leads the table but now by just twelve points.

You can still VOTE for your man of the match against Brighton. That vote will end at 7:30 p.m. this evening ahead of the Bournemouth vote.

The Manchester City result and the current player of the year table can be found below.


39% – Matěj Vydra
28% – James Tarkowski
8% – Nick Pope
6% – Erik Pieters
6% – Ben Mee
4% – Matt Lowton
3% – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
2% – Jack Cork
2% – Dwight McNeil & Ashley Westwood
1% – Jay Rodriguez


6.78 – James Tarkowski
6.51 – Ben Mee
6.49 – Matěj Vydra
6.22 – Erik Pieters
6.20 – Nick Pope
6.17 – Matt Lowton
5.78 – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
5.66 – Jack Cork & Dwight McNeil
5.34 – Ashley Westwood
4.71 – Jay Rodriguez


88: Nick Pope
76: James Tarkowski
62: Ben Mee
56: Charlie Taylor
53: Josh Brownhill
36: Dwight McNeil
20: Robbie Brady
19: Jay Rodriguez & Matěj Vydra
17: Kevin Long
16: Matt Lowton & Ashley Westwood
14: Phil Bardsley & Jimmy Dunne
12: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
10: Josh Benson, Jack Cork, Will Norris & Erik Pieters
6: Bobby Thomas
4: Ashley Barnes & Chris Wood
2: Joel Mumbongo & Dale Stephens
1: Anthony Glennon & Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :