Share this page :

Burnley beat Sunderland a week ago in the FA Cup, our first home win in the competition since beating Burton Albion in 2011. In the replay win, as was the case in the first game at the Stadium of Light, we kept a clean sheet with James Tarkowski taking the honours.

Just as he’d done in the first game, Tarkowski won both the man of the match vote and the player ratings as he played in a much changed defence with only Michael Keane, captaining the side again, remaining with the goalkeeper and three members of the back four changed.

He certainly wasn’t a close winner in the man of the match vote, claiming 61% of that vote with Jeff Hendrick, again impressive in the midfield, coming in second with a 13% share. Tendayi Darikwa, another to come into the much changed defence, was third with 10% of the vote while 8% was enough for Steven Defour to claim fourth place.

The top two were also in the same positions in the player ratings and were the only two players to reach eight out of ten. Tarkowski’s rating was 8.59 while Hendrick was behind with 8.12. This time Keane claimed third place with 7.76 and 7.65 out of 10 gave Joey Barton, making his first home start since returning, fourth place.

That result means another maximum ten points for Tarkowski and six for Hendrick. Both Darikwa and Keane won two points while there were one point each for Barton and Defour.

That result allowed Keane to move within ten points of leader Ben Mee in the Up the Clarets Player of the Year table. Tom Heaton remains third with Hendrick, in fourth place, just eleven points behind him.

You can still vote, until the end of today, for your Arsenal man of the match, and we’ll have that result tomorrow.

The Sunderland result is below along with the current player of the year table.


61% – James Tarkowski
13% – Jeff Hendrick
10% – Tendayi Darikwa
8% – Steven Defour
2% – Joey Barton
2% – Sam Vokes
1% – Michael Kightly & Nick Pope
1% – Jon Flanagan
1% – George Boyd
0% – Michael Keane


8.59 – James Tarkowski
8.12 – Jeff Hendrick
7.76 – Michael Keane
7.65 – Joey Barton
7.47 – Steven Defour
7.18 – Sam Vokes
6.91 – Nick Pope
6.85 – George Boyd
6.82 – Tendayi Darikwa
6.56 – Jon Flanagan
5.71 – Michael Kightly


82: Ben Mee
72: Michael Keane
62: Tom Heaton
51: Jeff Hendrick
37: Steven Defour
32: Dean Marney
31: Ashley Barnes
25: Johann Berg Gudmundsson
24: James Tarkowski
19: Andre Gray & Stephen Ward
13: George Boyd
9: Scott Arfield & Matt Lowton
8: Sam Vokes
7: Aiden O’Neill & Paul Robinson
6: Joey Barton
3: Tendayi Darikwa
1: Jon Flanagan & Michael Kightly

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :