Share this page :

Since moving into his new position alongside Taylor Harwood-Bellis in the centre of the Burnley defence, Charlie Taylor had his best game yet in the 1-1 draw at West Brom last Friday.

Taylor was superb, winning headers and getting in blocks, one in particular that stands out, and his overall performance has won him both our man of the match and player ratings.

He polled 48% of the man of the match vote, ahead of goalkeeper Arijanet Muric who came second with a 16% share. It was Muric’s kick that Nathan Tella brilliantly latched on to before being brought down for the penalty and Tella has taken third place with 13% while penalty taker and goal scorer Jay Rodriguez came fourth with 8% of the vote.

There was no change in the player ratings with the same four players taking the same four top positions. Taylor, with 8.16 out of ten, had the highest rating with Muric scoring 8.02. Tella was third with 7.52 and Rodriguez came fourth with a rating of 7.44 out of ten.

The result has given Taylor ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with Muric winning six points. There are also four points for Tella and two points for Rodriguez.

Those points haven’t affected the top three in the table of Josh Brownhill, Jack Cork and Ian Maatsen but Tella is now in fourth place just two points behind Maatsen.

The West Brom result and the current player of the year table are below.


48% – Charlie Taylor
16% – Arijanet Muric
13% – Nathan Tella
8% – Jay Rodriguez
5% – Taylor Harwood-Bellis
3% – Josh Cullen
1% – Josh Brownhill
1% – Jack Cork & Vitinho
1% – Darko Churlinov, Ian Maatsen & Connor Roberts
0% – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson


8.16 – Charlie Taylor
8.02 – Arijanet Muric
7.52 – Nathan Tella
7.44 – Jay Rodriguez
7.16 – Taylor Harwood-Bellis
6.62 – Josh Cullen
6.21 – Darko Churlinov
6.11 – Josh Brownhill & Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
6.00 – Vitinho
5.48 – Jack Cork
5.11 – Ian Maatsen
4.74 – Connor Roberts


35: Josh Brownhill
29: Jack Cork
20: Ian Maatsen
18: Nathan Tella
14: Taylor Harwood-Bellis & Jay Rodriguez
12: Charlie Taylor
11: Josh Cullen
9: Manuel Benson
8: Matt Lowton & Arijanet Muric
7: CJ Egan-Riley
6: Vitinho
4: Samuel Bastien
2: Darko Churlinov
1: Dara Costelloe & Bailey Peacock-Farrell

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :