The players deserve an enormous amount of credit
Burnley have beaten Cardiff 2-0 this afternoon at home to virtually secure a fourth successive season in the Premier League but it was another game that left a sour taste for Cardiff boss Neil Warnock who was baffled when his side were given a penalty and then had the decision overturned.
He said about the incident: “My lads should surround the referee really, (Burnley) had three lads in his ear straight away.
“Can I say, I’m lost for words. The linesman gave it, the fourth official told me Mike (Dean) didn’t see it and yet Mike must have seen something because he’s gone over and told the linesman that it’s hit a part of his body so it can’t be handball.
“It’s baffling really. I’m so gutted for my players. I think Darren (Cann) made the right decision and Mike has talked him out of it.”
“If you look at Cardiff’s next games, they have three out of five away and it’s tough going away in the Premier League, but from our point of view, it’s more important to get it factually done and we are doing a fine job of that. That’s 27 points in 15 games now, which is a fantastic run of form, and the players deserve an enormous amount of credit.
“I did say at Christmas that we are a strong outfit and we’d keep going. It’s been a tough season for many reasons, and continues to be until it’s factually done, but we’ve laid down a good marker. Three wins in a row in this league is very hard to achieve and we’ve come out of that with a really gritty, organised display today.”
He added: “The game should have been over at half time, with the chances we had, and that was frustrating. It wasn’t and credit to Cardiff, they went for it and threw bodies forward and it took us 25 minutes in the second half to find our footing. They had a big chance when Hoilett put one over the bar and it’s that strange thing in football, where we almost calmed down from that moment. We grew from there and finally we got the killer blow.”
Dyche very definitely had a different view than Warnock of the non-penalty incident. He said: “I was aggrieved that it was given by a linesman 70 yards away. It’s improbable that you can see that incident because of Ben’s body shape and the referee hasn’t given it. Ben faces it, he doesn’t head it, and it’s impossible he did that deliberately. That is the key. He’s gone to head it, it’s hit his eye socket and gone down his arm and that, for me, is impossible to give, so I’m pleased the right outcome was reached.
“To be fair to the ref, it’s a massive call and I thought he showed real strength to clean that moment up. We question them sometimes, but that was a really big call and the right one.”Share this page :