Share this page :

There was no doubting that James Trafford was our best player in last Saturday’s 1-1 draw at Brighton, making a number of top saves, particularly in the latter stages of the game, as Brighton came storming back at us.

It’s not the first time Trafford has won both the man of the match and player ratings in the same game; he did so in the 2-0 defeat against Newcastle at St. James’ Park, but not by anything like the margins he has come out on top in this game.

He won the man of the match with a staggering 83% of the vote and that left the remaining players picking up the scraps. Jordan Beyer, back from suspension, won the most of them and his 6% of the vote has given him second place. Vitinho, playing well again at right-back, came third with 4% while goalscorer Wilson Odobert claimed fourth place with a 2% share of the vote.

Three of those four players made the top places in the player ratings too with Trafford again way ahead with a rating of 8.81 out of ten. That’s the highest rating by any player this season, beating the 8.38 secured by Sander Berge in the 5-0 win against Sheffield United a week earlier.

Vitinho was second in the ratings with 7.57 and followed by Odobert with 7.32. Fourth place went to Dara O’Shea with a rating of 7.14 out of ten.

That means a maximum ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year for Trafford. Other players to win points were Vitinho (five), Beyer and Odobert (both three) and O’Shea (one point).

This result hasn’t changed the top positions in the player of the year table although Trafford has now moved into fifth place, just three points behind fourth place Beyer although some way behind the current top three.

We now move on to Everton this Saturday with the voting getting underway as soon as possible after the end of the game which kicks off at 5:30 p.m.

The Brighton result is below, followed by the current player of the year table.


83% – James Trafford
6% – Jordan Beyer
4% – Vitinho
2% – Wilson Odobert
1% – Sander Berge & Charlie Taylor
1% – Josh Brownhill & Dara O’Shea
1% – Zeki Amdouni & Aaron Ramsey
0% – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
0% – Jay Rodriguez


8.81 – James Trafford
7.57 – Vitinho
7.32 – Wilson Odobert
7.14 – Dara O’Shea
7.05 – Josh Brownhill
6.95 – Sander Berge
6.81 – Jordan Beyer
6.68 – Charlie Taylor
6.43 – Zeki Amdouni
5.95 – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
5.46 – Jay Rodriguez
4.84 – Aaron Ramsey


71: Sander Berge
54: Luca Koleosho
49: Lyle Foster
33: Jordan Beyer
30: James Trafford
29: Charlie Taylor
25: Josh Brownhill
18: Ameen Al-Dakhil
17: Wilson Odobert
15: Dara O’Shea
14: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
12: Zeki Amdouni
10: Arijanet Muric
8: Vitinho & Anass Zaroury
7: Josh Cullen
6: Jacob Bruun Larsen
5: Hjalmar Ekdal & Aaron Ramsey
4: Nathan Redmond
3: Hannes Delcroix
1: Jay Rodriguez

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :