Share this page :

It’s taken some time to be confirmed but today we’ve announced that twenty-one players, fifteen of them full time professionals along with six scholars, will be leaving the club once their contracts expire at the end of the season.

The club have also confirmed the news we brought you earlier this week that Ashley Barnes has signed a one-year contract extension but six of his team mates will be saying goodbye. Those six are Phil Bardsley, Aaron Lennon, Ben Mee, Erik Pieters, Dale Stephens and James Tarkowski.

There are no big surprises there. Both Mee and Tarkowski have revealed they will be leaving while news of both Bardsley and Stephens going has been available since a couple of days after the Newcastle game. They have been joined by Lennon and Pieters who have not been offered new deals.

The two other first team players out of contract are Jack Cork and Matěj Vydra. There has been speculation that Cork will also be leaving but the club have reported that both remain in discussion over contract extensions.

Besides Barnes, two members of the under-23 squad have had their contract options extended which means both Ne-Jai Tucker and Max Thompson will be with us next season. New deals have also been offered to Finn Armstrong, Dara Costelloe, Rob Harker, Joe McGlynn, Jake Rooney and Ben Woods.

However, leaving Burnley from the under-23 squad are Harry Allen, Joel Connolly, Calen Gallagher-Allison, Anthony Glennon, Anthony Gomez Mancini, Joel Mumbongo, Richard Nartey, Sam Unwin and Ethan Vaughan.

That leaves Nick Pope, Wayne Hennessey, Bailey Peacock-Farrell, Will Norris, Matt Lowton, Connor Roberts, Nathan Collins, Kevin Long, Bobby Thomas, Charlie Taylor, Josh Brownhill, Ashley Westwood, Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson, Dwight McNeil, Maxwel Cornet, Jay Rodriguez, Wout Weghorst, Jacob Bedeau, Owen Dodgson, Mark Helm, Adam Phillips, Lewis Richardson and Michael Mellon. All are under contract beyond this year.

Moving on to the scholars in the under-18s. Six of them have left the club following the end of the season. The six are Ruari Behan, Will Couch, Sean Etaluku, Jack Leckie, Joe Smyth-Ferguson and George Walters.

Nine others, and they are Jacson Coppack, Jacob Hamilton, Will Hugill, Dane McCullouch, Kade Ratchford, Dan Sassi, Sam Waller, Benn Ward and Keelan Williams, have all had their scholarships extended into a third year.

None of Corey Brennan, Tremaine Eastmond, Lukas Jensen, Lewis Thomas and Harry Williams, who are all still listed as Burnley players by the club, are named in today’s release.

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :