Share this page :

Nathan Tella scored the first two goals in our 3-0 home win against Wigan Athletic last Saturday and that, coupled with his overall performance, has won him both the man of the match and the player ratings.

His goals have taken him to fourteen in the Championship, to add to the two he scored against Ipswich in the FA Cup, and this was another excellent showing from the Southampton loanee.

He won 45% of the vote to win the man of the match, ahead of Josh Cullen who took second place with 23%. Goalkeeper Arijanet Muric, who made two superb saves with the score at 1-0, was third with a 12% share and Jordan Beyer took fourth place with 4% of the vote.

The same four players were in the top four positions in the player ratings. Tella was the winner with a rating of 8.77 out of ten with Muric this time in second place having scored 8.26. Cullen was third with 8.13 and Beyer again fourth with a rating of 8.03 out of ten.

Tella has won ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year. There are five points for both Cullen and Muric with Beyer winning two points. The five won by Cullen have taken him level with Jack Cork at the top of the table and they sit twenty-one points clear of Manuel Benson in third place. Benson’s place is under threat now with Beyer just one point behind him and Tella now within seven points.

The Hull vote will be underway tonight, soon after the final whistle. The Wigan result and the current player of the year table can be found below.


45% – Nathan Tella
23% – Josh Cullen
12% – Arijanet Muric
5% – Jordan Beyer
5% – Anass Zaroury
4% – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
1% – Connor Roberts
1% – Lyle Foster
1% – Ashley Barnes
1% – Hjalmar Ekdal
0% – Jack Cork, Ian Maatsen & Vitinho


8.77 – Nathan Tella
8.26 – Arijanet Muric
8.13 – Josh Cullen
8.03 – Jordan Beyer
7.77 – Anass Zaroury
7.67 – Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
7.41 – Ian Maatsen
7.38 – Lyle Foster
7.08 – Connor Roberts
7.01 – Ashley Barnes
6.85 – Jack Cork
6.54 – Hjalmar Ekdal
6.46 – Vitinho


105: Jack Cork & Josh Cullen
84: Manuel Benson
83: Jordan Beyer
77: Nathan Tella
59: Anass Zaroury
56: Ian Maatsen
44: Charlie Taylor
41: Josh Brownhill
39: Ashley Barnes
37: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
35: Taylor Harwood-Bellis
33: Arijanet Muric
25: Ameen Al-Dakhil
23: Connor Roberts & Jay Rodriguez
22: Hjalmar Ekdal
21: Vitinho
14: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
10: Matt Lowton
7: CJ Egan-Riley
6: Samuel Bastien
3: Halil Dervişoğlu
2: Darko Churlinov & Luke McNally
1: Dara Costelloe

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :