Share this page :

In what was really a shocking performance by Burnley last Saturday at Brentford, some players were always going to show up better than others when it came to the man of the match and player ratings and the two who did were goalkeeper James Trafford and forward Lyle Foster.

James Trafford – voted man of the match

Trafford made some good saves, particularly in the closing stages of the first half, to keep us in the game while Foster was undoubtedly our only real threat and set up Luca Koleosho for what was our one real chance of the game.

Trafford it was who won the man of the match, claiming 54% of the vote. Foster had 27% to take second place with Charlie Taylor and Koleosho taking the next two places with 5% and 4% of the vote respectively.

Moving into the player ratings, the top two from the vote swapped places. Foster came out on top with a rating of 6.41 out of ten and Trafford took second place with 6.27. Not only were they the only players to score above six for an average performance, no other player was even able to reach five and five players fell below four out of ten.

It meant that Taylor was able to come in third with a rating of just 4.95 and just below him in fourth place was Josh Brownhill, who came on as a substitute midway through the second half, and he had a rating of 4.91 out of ten.

Both Foster and Trafford have won eight points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year. Taylor took four points and there was one point each for Brownhill and Koleosho. That’s now given Foster a massive 23 point lead at the top of the table. Koleosho remains second, three points ahead of Jordan Beyer. Taylor has now moved into fourth place just one point ahead of Ameen Al-Dakhil, Sander Berge and Trafford.

The last two games have brought astonishingly low player ratings, and with some justification, but we will be turning our attention to Bournemouth come Saturday when there is absolutely no doubt that we need to perform considerably better than we have done in those last two games.

That vote will be underway soon after the game and below is the Brentford result followed by the current player of the year table.


54% – James Trafford
27% – Lyle Foster
5% – Charlie Taylor
4% – Luca Koleosho
2% – Josh Brownhill
2% – Ameen Al-Dakhil & Josh Cullen
1% – Zeki Amdouni
1% – Connor Roberts
1% – Mike Trésor
1% – Wilson Odobert
0% – Sander Berge
0% – Dara O’Shea


6.41 – Lyle Foster
6.27 – James Trafford
4.95 – Charlie Taylor
4.91 – Josh Brownhill
4.64 – Zeki Amdouni
4.55 – Luca Koleosho
4.45 – Josh Cullen
4.41 – Dara O’Shea
3.86 – Ameen Al-Dakhil
3.73 – Sander Berge
3.59 – Connor Roberts
3.36 – Wilson Odobert & Mike Trésor


49: Lyle Foster
26: Luca Koleosho
23: Jordan Beyer
19: Charlie Taylor
18: Ameen Al-Dakhil, Sander Berge & James Trafford
14: Josh Brownhill & Wilson Odobert
8: Anass Zaroury
7: Josh Cullen
6: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson & Dara O’Shea
5: Zeki Amdouni, Jacob Bruun Larsen & Aaron Ramsey
4: Arijanet Muric
2: Hannes Delcroix

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :